SEC Honors
NCAA History


The Georgia tennis program began from humble origins in 1966 as a club sport under Jo Ann Kemp. It was established under the auspices of the AIAW in the 1973-74 season and later the NCAA in 1982-83. Through the 2013 season, the Bulldogs have amassed an all-time record of 787-253 for a .757 winning percentage.

The first head coach for the program was Jane Kuykendoll, and she directed the team for four seasons (55-16). Greg McGarity took over in 1978, and the team won the GAIAW State Tournament earning the program's first post-season berth, qualifying for the AIAW Regionals.

McGarity led the program until 1981, posting a 51-44 career mark. (Note. On Aug. 13, 2010, McGarity was named Georgia's athletic director). Lee Meyers served as the third coach (1982-83). In 1982, Georgia made the AIAW Nationals. After Meyers, Cissie Donigan was Georgia's fourth coach, going 34-29 in two seasons.

It was during this time that Georgia had its first All-American, Lisa Spain. She won the 1984 NCAA singles title and also was the HONDA/Broderick Award winner for tennis.

Current coach Jeff Wallace became the fifth coach in school history in 1986. Now in his 29th season as head coach, Wallace is the winningest active women's tennis coach and has amassed a 607-150 record, becoming one of just three women's tennis coaches to reach 600 wins during the 2013 season. The program has become one of the nation's best with two NCAA team titles to date. In Georgia's first trip to the NCAAs, coming in 1987, the Bulldogs advanced to the finals.

In 1994, Georgia dominated the collegiate tennis world going 27-2. They won the SEC championship (14-0) as well as the USTA/ITA National Team Indoor Title, and ultimately the NCAA Championship as they defeated Stanford 5-4 in the finals before a crowd of 3,117 in Athens.

Angela Lettiere, the 1994 College Tennis Player of the Year and recipient of the prestigious HONDA/Broderick Award for tennis, led the Bulldogs to their first NCAA team title, and a few days later, she won the singles title. In 2005, Lettiere was inducted into Georgia's Circle of Honor, the highest honor a Bulldog student-athlete or coach can achieve.

In 1995, Georgia won its second straight USTA/ITA National Team Indoor title. They were ranked No. 1 for almost the entire year before finishing No. 3 after reaching the semifinals of the NCAAs. In 1998, the Bulldogs advanced to the NCAA semifinals for the fourth time in school history.

In 2000, Georgia claimed its second NCAA title, dethroning Stanford 5-4 and ending a 48-match Cardinal winning streak. Georgia won the national championship on the campus of Pepperdine in Malibu, Calif.

The following year, the Bulldogs won the SEC Tournament and advanced to the NCAA semifinals. In 2002, Georgia captured the USTA/ITA National Team Indoor title, the SEC championship and went undefeated during the regular season for the first time since 1975. The Bulldogs advanced to the NCAA semifinals for the sixth time in school history and finished up 26-2. In 2004, Georgia went 20-5, advanced to the NCAA quarterfinals and ended the year ranked seventh nationally. Georgia continues its tradition, making NCAA appearances and earning a final ITA ranking among the nation's Top 25.

In 2007, Georgia won both the SEC regular season and the SEC Tournament, finishing with a 24-2 overall record and final ITA ranking of No. 4. The Bulldogs repeated as SEC Tournament Champions in 2008 and ended with a final ITA ranking of No. 8. In 2009, Georgia claimed another SEC title and an impressive third straight SEC Tournament crown. The Bulldogs advanced to the NCAA Final Four and a final ITA ranking of No. 3.

In 2010, Georgia's Chelsey Gullickson captured the NCAA singles title on her home courts, joining Spain and Lettiere as NCAA champions. In 2011, Georgia made the most improvement of any team in the final top 20. The Bulldogs began the season ranked No. 18 and ended the year at No. 8.

In 2011, Georgia finished the season ranked No. 8 with a 19-5 mark while the 2012 squad posted a 24-5 record and a No. 6 final ranking. The 2011, 2012 and 2013 teams advanced to the quarterfinals of the NCAA Championships. The 2013 squad won the program's eighth SEC Title.

The Bulldogs benefit from one of the best facilities in all of collegiate tennis in the Dan Magill Tennis Complex. The complex has played host to the NCAA Women's Tennis Championships six times (1994, 2004, 2005, 2007, 2010 and 2012). Since 2006, the NCAA Tennis Championships have been combined at one site and under this format, Georgia has played host three times (2007, 2010 and 2012). The Dan Magill Tennis Complex are set to host the championship event again in 2013.

HunkerDown Productions

Georgia Official Online Store Committ to the G

Georgia Official Online Store
Photo Store Media Guides