UGA To Host NCAA Tennis Championships, NCAA Gymnastics Regional In 2017
Georgia will host the NCAA Tennis Championships in 2017.

Dec. 11, 2013

ATHENS-----The University of Georgia will serve as the host site for the 2017 NCAA Division I Men’s and Women’s Tennis Championships in addition to a 2017 NCAA Gymnastics Regional, according to an announcement by the NCAA on Wednesday.

The NCAA announced 523 host sites for 82 of its 89 championships for the 2014-18 seasons, making it the largest collection of host site announcements in association history.

"It is a tremendous honor to serve as host for the NCAA Tennis Championships and an NCAA Gymnastics Regional," said UGA J. Reid Parker Director of Athletics Greg McGarity. "Our staff and community volunteers share in this wonderful opportunity to showcase the University of Georgia and Athens. We look forward to great championships in 2017.”

The Dan Magill Tennis Complex has played host to the men's NCAA Championships 24 times and the women's NCAA Championships three times, in addition to three combined tournaments for a total of 30, most recently in 2012. UGA will also serve as host in May 2014.

The Georgia men’s tennis team has won six NCAA titles on the men’s side, including five in Athens. The women claimed the national title in 1994 and at home in 2000.

“We’re excited to continue this great tradition of hosting the NCAA Championships in Athens,” said Georgia men’s tennis coach Manuel Diaz. “We are thankful to have our athletic department firmly behind both our men’s and women’s programs and to hold NCAA tennis in such high regard. This is a tremendous event and a terrific experience for the student-athletes.”

The NCAA has recognized a national champion in men's tennis every year since 1946. It has done so in tournament format since 1977. The first NCAA Women’s Tennis Championships was held in 1982. The tournaments moved from a 16-team field to the current 64-team field in 1999. The first two rounds are held at on-campus sites, followed by the Round of 16 and beyond at a designated NCAA Championship site.



“We’re honored to host the NCAA Championships again in 2017,” said Georgia women’s tennis coach Jeff Wallace. It's always a great event for the University and for the Athens community. We’re looking forward to it.” 

In the inaugural men's tournament held at the University of Georgia, Stanford defeated UCLA in the team portion while the Cardinal's Matt Mitchell was the singles champion and Bruce Manson and Chris Lewis of Southern California claimed the doubles crown. 

In the first women's tournament, Stanford defeated UCLA in Salt Lake City, Utah. The Cardinal's Alycia Mouton won the singles championship and the Bruins duo of Heather Ludloff and Lynn Lewis took the inaugural doubles honor.

Georgia is also one of six host sites for the 2017 NCAA Gymnastics Regionals. The regional competition will be held at Stegeman Coliseum on Saturday, April 1, 2017. Teams and all-around competitors advancing out of the regional championships will compete at the National Collegiate Women's Gymnastics Championships in St. Louis, Mo. 

"It's always exciting to be able to host a regional,” said UGA head coach Danna Durante. “We love competing in front of our fans, and there is no community support like we have here at Georgia. It’s an honor to be able to showcase great gymnastics on our floor.”

The other five host institutions for NCAA Regionals include Arkansas, Illinois, Nebraska, Washington and West Virginia. Georgia has served as host of a regional 11 times, most recently in 2011. The Gym Dogs will serve as host to an NCAA Regional in April 2014.

HunkerDown Productions
  • There are no recent results.
  • There are no upcoming events.

Georgia Official Online Store Committ to the G

Georgia Official Online Store
Photo Store Media Guides