Auburn Takes 2-0 Win Over Georgia
Erin Arevalo

March 16, 2012

Box Score

ATHENS, Ga.--The first inning proved to be enough scoring for No. 18 Auburn (23-4, 2-1), as the Tigers took a 2-0 win against the No. 8 University of Georgia softball team (21-5, 2-2) Friday night at Jack Turner Stadium.

Senior Erin Arevalo (8-2) took the loss after she gave up three hits and struck out eight in seven innings of work. Auburn's Jenee Loree (8-1) blanked Georgia with a one-hit complete game while walking three and striking out five.

Auburn took an early 2-0 advantage to open the contest. With Lauren Guzman making her way to third from a hit by pitch, sacrifice bunt and groundout, the third baseman would score after a fielding error on Georgia allowed Caitlin Jordan to reach first. Jordan made her way around the bases to put the score at 2-0 courtesy of an Amber Harrison single.

Freshman Gracie Goulder provided Georgia's lone hit in the bottom of the second with a hard grounder toward the Tiger shortstop; however, she would be one of three Bulldogs to be stranded in the game.

Georgia and Auburn return to Jack Turner Stadium for game two of the three-game series on Saturday, March 17 at 2:30 p.m.


 

 

HunkerDown Productions
  • There are no recent results.
  • Sunday, Apr 23
    L, 2-0
    at Texas A&M
    College Station, Texas
    Friday, Apr 28
    6:00 PM
    vs South Carolina
    Athens, Ga.

    TV
    Saturday, Apr 29
    2:00 PM
    vs South Carolina
    Athens, Ga.

    TV
    Sunday, Apr 30
    2:00 PM
    vs South Carolina
    Athens, Ga.

    TV
    Friday, May 5
    7:30 PM
    at Arkansas
    Fayetteville, Ark.

    TV
    Saturday, May 6
    2:00 PM
    at Arkansas
    Fayetteville, Ark.

    Sunday, May 7
    2:00 PM
    at Arkansas
    Fayetteville, Ark.

    TV
    Wednesday, May 10
    TBA
    vs SEC Tournament
    Knoxville, Tenn.
    Friday, May 19
    TBA
    vs NCAA Regionals
    Campus Sites
    Thursday, May 25
    TBA
    vs NCAA Super Regionals
    Campus Sites
VIEW FULL COMPOSITE CALENDAR

Georgia Official Online Store Committ to the G

Georgia Official Online Store
Photo Store Media Guides




SPONSORS