Soccer To Host The Citadel Friday In Exhibition
Nicole Locandro led Georgia offensively in 2012.

Nicole Locandro led Georgia offensively in 2012.

Aug 14, 2013

ATHENS, Ga. --- The Georgia soccer team will face off against an opponent for the first time this season when it hosts The Citadel in a 7 p.m. exhibition game at the UGA Soccer Stadium on Fri., Aug. 16. The Bulldogs held their annual Red & Black intrasquad scrimmage last Friday night.

The exhibition game is open to the public and admission is free.

The Citadel brings back 12 letterwinners and eight starters from last season’s group that narrowly missed the Southern Conference tournament. Highlighting the returning group is senior Mariana Garcia, who led the team with 14 goals in 2012. Her 0.778 goals-per-game average ranked 11th in the nation.

Georgia will officially open the 2013 regular season on the road next weekend, meeting Texas on Fri., Aug. 23 in Austin before heading to take on Houston on Sun., Aug. 25.

The 2013 Bulldogs return six regular starters and 15 letterwinners from last season, including first team All-South Region and second team All-SEC defender Torri Allen as well as the team's leading offensive player from 2012 in senior Nicole Locandro (4g, 3a, 11p). Additionally, the squad welcomed in 15 newcomers, including two Gatorade high school state players of the year in Marion Crowder (Mississippi) and Rachel Garcia (Georgia).

Head coach Steve Holeman is just four wins shy of 200 for his career.

Georgia is aiming for its fifth NCAA Tournament bid in the last seven seasons and ninth overall.

Live Blog Georgia Bulldogs Soccer Wall


Are you committed?

Tell us how at
and tag
  • Friday, Aug 21
    7:00 PM
    at High Point
    High Point, N.C.
    Saturday, Aug 15
    7:00 PM
    vs Furman Exhibition
    Athens, Ga.
  • Friday, Oct 16
    7:00 PM
    vs Alabama
    Athens, Ga.
    Friday, Oct 23
    8:00 PM
    at Vanderbilt
    Nashville, Tenn.
    Sunday, Oct 25
    3:00 PM
    at Auburn
    Auburn, Ala.
    Thursday, Oct 29
    7:00 PM
    vs Florida
    Athens, Ga.
    Monday, Nov 2
    vs SEC Tournament First Round
    Orange Beach, Ala.
    Wednesday, Nov 4
    vs SEC Tournament Quarterfinals
    Orange Beach, Ala.
    Friday, Nov 6
    vs SEC Tournament Semifinals
    Orange Beach, Ala.
    Sunday, Nov 8
    vs SEC Tournament Championship
    Orange Beach, Ala.

Georgia Official Online Store Committ to the G

Georgia Official Online Store
Photo Store Media Guides