SEC Champions


SEC Champions (10 Team; 6 Individuals)

1983 Team
Georgia captured its first-ever SEC Championship in impressive fashion in 1983. The Bulldogs posted sub-300 rounds during all three days of play which in turn led to what is still perhaps the most dominating set of individual finishes in league history. Cindy Pleger led Georgia with a runner-up finish, while Martha Stacy tied for fourth, Caroline Gowan placed sixth, Cindy Schreyer tied for seventh and Beans Kelly tied for ninth.

1985 Team & Individual
A final-round 68 by Cindy Schreyer sparked the Dogs to the 1985 SEC title. Georgia led from wire-to-wire and owned a nine-shot lead entering the last round and posted a respectable 295 on the third day but needed Schreyer’s UGA-record score to hold off Florida, which carded a 289 on Sunday to finish just three shots back. Schreyer captured her fourth title of the 1985 calendar year and won her first league title after losing in a playoff the previous year.

1988 Team
The Bulldogs posted an SEC-record even-par 864 en route to 1988 league title, a mark which still stands as Georgia’s best 54-hole team tally ever. Four Dogs finished among the top-10 in the individual field: Sue Thomas (second), second-round leader Heather Kuzmich (third), Stephanie Lowe (fourth) and Nanci Bowen (eighth).

1990 Team & Individual
Anne Cain and Petra Rigby led Georgia to the 1990 Southeastern Conference crown. Cain and Rigby fired first-round 75s to place themselves in a four-way tie for the lead and Georgia one stroke ahead of Auburn. Following a rained-out second round, Cain shot 69 while Rigby posted a 73 to finish 1-2 overall, the first and only time two Bulldogs had done so.

1993 Team & Individual
The same formula as the one used in 1990 – two steady rounds sandwiched between a rained-out second day – helped Georgia to both team and individual titles at the 1993 SECs. Senior Sara Miley secured the only individual title of her career, defeating Carri Wood of Mississippi State on the first hole of a sudden death playoff. Three stroke back after the first day, UGA posted the low score of the final round to edge second-place Tennessee by six shots.
1994Team  A school-record 287 in the first round gave Georgia a lead it would never relinquish en route to winning the 1994 SECs. Kelly Doohan paced UGA on the first day with a 70, while Erin O’Neil, who eventually finished a team-best third individually, shot 71, Stefi Markovich carded a 72 and Kelley Richardson shot 74.

1997 Team & Individual
Shauna Estes capped what was then the most fruitful freshman campaign in SEC history by capturing the league’s “triple crown” and leading Georgia to perhaps its most improbable SEC title in 1997. The No. 22-ranked Lady Dogs defeated four higher-ranked teams to win the SEC crown. Estes took medalist honors to validate the SEC Player of the Year and SEC Freshman of the Year accolades she collected earlier in the weekend. Senior Erin O’Neil shot a second-round 66 to help her finish third, the same spot she occupied while leading UGA to the 1994 SEC title during her freshman year.

1998 Team & Individual
It was a repeat performance in more ways than one at the 1998 SEC Championships. Freshman Reilley Rankin shot 72-71-72=215 to become the second straight UGA freshman to claim SEC medalist honors while winning the third of four consecutive individual titles she claimed in a red-hot spring. Rankin followed Estes’ lead from the previous year by earning SEC Player of the Year and SEC Freshman of the Year honors. She also was named 1998 National Freshman of the Year.

1999 Team & Individual
Georgia posted the low team tally on each day to obliterate the field and capture the 1999 SECs by 18 strokes. Shauna Estes’ first-round 67 picked up some struggling teammates and enabled the Bulldogs to establish a seven-shot lead. That margin doubled during the second round and grew even more on the final day. Estes became Georgia’s first two-time SEC champ and did so with a league-record nine-shot margin of victory.

2001 Team
The Bulldogs played their most consistent golf of the season at the 2001 SEC Championships, and that performance resulted in Georgia’s first win of the campaign. The Lady Dogs trailed leader LSU by three shots after round one and by four strokes entering the third round but used a 292 to emerge victorious by five shots. Summer Sirmons and Reilley Rankin tied for third overall.

Shop here for Bulldogs gear


At the Official Online Store

    Twitter Facebook Instagram Google