Teresa Edwards To Receive Bill Hartman Award

Oct. 4, 2010

ATHENS, Ga. --- Teresa Edwards, a two-time All-American for the Georgia Lady Bulldogs and the only U.S. basketball player to compete in five Olympic Games, is the 2010 recipient of the Bill Hartman Award. Edwards will be presented the award at Saturday’s football game against Tennessee.

"There are many great names associated with Georgia athletics and Teresa Edwards is certainly one of the greatest," said Director of Athletics Greg McGarity. "She was a tremendous representative of the University as a student-athlete, and since graduation she has been a worldwide ambassador for basketball inspiring countless lives."

Named for the late Bill Hartman, Georgia’s long-time kicking coach and chairman of the Georgia Student Educational Fund, the Hartman Award is one of the highest honors given to a former UGA student-athlete. The Hartman Award has been presented annually since 1992 and recognizes former Georgia student-athletes who have demonstrated excellence in their profession and/or in service to others by 20 or more years of superior performance after graduation. Only former varsity athletes who have received a baccalaureate degree from Georgia can be considered for the award.

Edwards, a native of Cairo, Ga., enjoyed a spectacular four-year run that turned Lady Bulldog Basketball into one of the nation's premier programs. She helped lead Georgia to its first-ever Final Four appearance as a freshman in 1983, to an NCAA runner-up finish in 1985 and to SEC Championships in 1983, 1984 and 1986. The Lady Bulldogs compiled a 116-7 record during Edwards' four seasons at UGA.

Edwards also began her unparalleled international playing career while still in Athens.

In 1984, the summer following her sophomore year, Edwards was the youngest member of the U.S. team that captured a Gold Medal at the Los Angeles Olympics. She started for virtually every U.S. National Team to enter a major international competition for the rest of the century. She captured additional Gold Medals in 1988, 1996 and 2000, as well as a Bronze in 1992.

In 2000, Edwards co-captained the U.S. to the Gold Medal in Sydney, giving her the unique distinction of being both the youngest and the oldest women's basketball player to earn Olympic Gold.

Edwards enjoyed an extremely successful professional career with stints in Italy, Japan, Spain, France and Russia. She also played a formative role in the development of professional women's basketball in the U.S. Edwards was on the board of directors of the ABL, the first league to form after the Atlanta Olympics, and served as player/coach of the league's Atlanta Glory. She wrapped up her playing days in the U.S. with the WNBA's Lynx in 2003 and 2004.

Edwards has been inducted into six halls of fame. She was a member of the inaugural class for the UGA's all-sports "Circle of Honor" in 1995 and was inducted to the State of Georgia's Sports Hall of Fame in 2001, the National High School Sports Hall of Fame in 2002, the Grady County (Ga.) Sports Hall of Fame in 2009, the U.S. Olympic Hall of Fame in 2009 and the Women's Basketball Hall of Fame in 2010.

"The University of Georgia means so much to me and the name 'Bill Hartman' is synonymous with what the Georgia Bulldogs are all about," Edwards said. "It's an extreme honor to receive this year's Hartman Award and I am, as always, very excited about any chance to get back to Athens."

Previous Hartman Award winners include former NFL quarterback Fran Tarkenton (1992); Atlanta Olympic Committee CEO Billy Payne (1992); former Gov. Carl Sanders (1993); Atlanta developer Tom Cousins (1993); legendary former tennis coach Dan Magill (1994); former high school coach Billy Henderson (1995); former Lt. Gov. Pierre Howard (1996); noted amateur golfer Jimmy Gabrielsen (1997); physician Dr. Andy Roddenbery (1998); Athens businessman Hilton Young Jr. (1999); Harvard University Department of Dermatology Chief of Staff Dr. Becky Birchmore Campen (2000); vascular surgeon Dr. Thomas Lawhorne (2001); endoscopic laser surgeon Dr. Thomas Lyons (2002); neurosurgeon and former team physician Dr. Robert E. Dicks III (2003); Atlanta businessman William Young (2004); longtime juvenile court judge, the Hon. Aaron Cohn (2005); housing developer Keith McSwain (2006); Athens transportation executive Mack H. Guest III (2007); pulmonary and critical care specialist Dr. Kathy McMinn (2008); and Coca-Cola executive Frank Ros (2009).



HunkerDown Productions
  • There are no recent results.
  • There are no upcoming events.

Georgia Official Online Store Committ to the G

Georgia Official Online Store
Photo Store Media Guides