Isner Wins Second Straight BB&T Atlanta Open
John Isner clinches his fist in victory after defeating Dudi Sela, of Israel, 6-3, 6-4 in the singles final at the BB&T Atlanta Open Sunday, July 27. (AP Photo/David Tulis)

July 27, 2014

ATLANTA -----Former Georgia tennis standout John Isner won his second straight BB&T Atlanta Open on Sunday, defeating Dudi Sela 6-3, 6-4 at Atlantic Station.

For top-seeded Isner, it was his ninth career ATP Tour title and his second in 2014 after winning the Heineken Open earlier this year in New Zealand. Following Isner's three-set victory over Robby Gindpri in the second round on Thursday, he won all three subsequent matches in straight sets.

This marked the fourth time in five years Isner reached the final in Atlanta. Isner defeated Kevin Anderson in three sets to win last year.

Isner, who entered Sunday's match ranked 12th in the world, was a four-time All-American at UGA from 2004-07 and led the Bulldogs to a perfect 32-0 record as a senior. He holds the school record for wins in both singles and doubles.

Live Blog Georgia Bulldogs Men's Tennis Wall
 

GAMEDAY CENTRAL

Are you committed?

Tell us how at
http://gado.gs/ru
and tag
#CommitToTheG
  • There are no recent results.
  • Friday, Sept 9
    All Day
    vs Palmas Tournament
    Puerto Rico
    Saturday, Sept 10
    All Day
    vs Palmas Tournament
    Puerto Rico
    Sunday, Sept 11
    All Day
    vs Palmas Tournament
    Puerto Rico
    Monday, Sept 19
    All Day
    vs USTA Pro Circuit
    Columbus, Ohio
    Friday, Sept 23
    All Day
    vs Southern Intercollegiates
    Athens, Ga.
    Saturday, Sept 24
    All Day
    vs Southern Intercollegiates
    Athens, Ga.
    Sunday, Sept 25
    All Day
    vs Southern Intercollegiates
    Athens, Ga.
    Monday, Sept 26
    All Day
    vs Southern Intercollegiates
    Athens, Ga.
    Monday, Oct 3
    All Day
    vs All-America Qualifiers
    Tulsa, Okla.
    Tuesday, Oct 4
    All Day
    vs All-America Qualifiers
    Tulsa, Okla.
VIEW FULL COMPOSITE CALENDAR

Georgia Official Online Store Committ to the G

Georgia Official Online Store
Photo Store Media Guides




SPONSORS