Boeker named SEC Male Athlete of the Year

June 9, 2010

BIRMINGHAM, Ala. --- Georgia's Matias Boeker, who captured tennis' "Triple Crown" by winning NCAA team, singles and doubles championships earlier this spring, was named the 2000-01 Southeastern Conference Male Athlete of the Year by a vote of the league's athletics directors, the SEC office announced Wednesday.

Arkansas' Amy Yoder Begley was chosen as the SEC Female Athlete of the Year.

"Matias and Amy are fine representatives for their universities and this conference," SEC Commissioner Roy Kramer said. "They have competed at the highest level and have shown the true meaning of being a student-athlete by succeeding both on the athletic field and in the classroom. We congratulate them on their efforts and wish them the best in their future endeavors."

Boeker becomes the eighth Georgia student-athlete to be named SEC Athlete of the Year, the most of any school in the conference. Previous UGA winners include Kristy Kowal (swimming) in 1999, Saudia Roundtree (basketball) in 1996, Vicki Goetze (golf) in 1992, Alec Kessler (basketball) in 1990, Terry Hoage (football) in 1984, Herschel Walker (football/track and field) in 1983 and Buck Belue (football/ baseball) in 1982.

Boeker completed Georgia's first triple crown of tennis as he helped guide Georgia to its fourth national championship and won the Bulldogs' third NCAA singles and second doubles titles as well. Boeker, a sophomore, was only the third player in NCAA history to accomplish that feat, joining Stanford's Alex O'Brien (1992) and Bob Bryan (1998).

Boeker was tabbed as TENNIS Magazine/Intercollegiate Tennis Association (ITA) National Player of the Year, while he and Travis Parrott were chosen as the National Doubles Team of the Year. Boeker earned All-America accolades for the second time in as many years. He also was named first-team All-SEC for the second consecutive year in singles and teamed with Parrott to earn first-team All-SEC honors in doubles.

By winning the NCAA singles championship, Boeker became Georgia's first singles champion since Mikael Pernfors won the title in 1985. He was a perfect 5-0 at No. 1 singles during NCAA play in leading Georgia to the national title and finished the year with a 44-8 record in singles play, including 18 straight wins to end the campaign. Boeker teamed with Parrott to win the Dogs' first NCAA doubles crown since Allen Miller and Ola Malmqvist in 1983.



Boeker finished the season ranked nationally in singles (No. 2) and doubles (No. 3).

The SEC and NCAA Champion in the 10,000 meters, Yoder Begley concluded the season at Arkansas as one of the all-time leaders for SEC championships in any sport. A 16-time SEC champion and 17-time All-SEC selection, she swept the 5,000 and 10,000 meters outdoors after missing the indoor track season due to injury.

Boeker was selected from a field of nominees which included: David Kimani, Alabama (cross country/track); Oskar Johansson, Arkansas (tennis); Rudi Johnson, Auburn (football); Nick Gilliam, Florida (golf); Tayshaun Prince, Kentucky (basketball); Walter Davis, LSU (track & field); Deuce McAllister, Ole Miss (football); Marco Baron, Mississippi State (tennis); Kyle Thompson, South Carolina (golf); Chris Burke, Tennessee (baseball); Matt Stewart, Vanderbilt (football).

Yoder Begley was selected from a field of nominees which included: Kelly Kretschman, Alabama (softball); Maggie Bowen, Auburn (swimming); Whitney Laiho, Florida (tennis); Kim Black, Georgia (swimming); Jamie Siegele, Kentucky (swimming); Britni Sneed, LSU (softball); Teneeshia Jones, Ole Miss (track & field); LaToya Thomas, Mississippi State (basketball); Demetria Washington, South Carolina (track & field); Young-A Yang, Tennessee (golf); Chantelle Anderson, Vanderbilt (basketball).

Past recipients of the SEC Athlete of the Year Award included:

2000 - Kip Bouknight , South Carolina (baseball) and Kowal; 1999 - Tim Couch, Kentucky (football) and Chamique Holdsclaw, Tennessee (basketball); 1998 - Peyton Manning, Tennessee (football) and Chamique Holdsclaw, Tennessee (basketball); 1997 - Danny Wuerffel, Florida (football) and Trinity Johnson, South Carolina (softball); 1996 - Danny Wuerffel, Florida (football) and Roundtree; 1995 - Todd Helton, Tennessee (baseball) and Jenny Hansen, Kentucky (gymnastics); 1994 - Corliss Williamson, Arkansas (basketball) and Nicole Haislett, Florida (swimming); 1993 - Jamal Mashburn, Kentucky (basketball) and Nicole Haislett, Florida (swimming); 1992 - Shaquille O'Neal, LSU (basketball) and Goetze; 1991 - Shaquille O'Neal, LSU (basketball) and Daedra Charles, Tennessee (basketball); 1990 - Kessler and Dee Foster, Alabama (gymnastics); 1989 - Derrick Thomas, Alabama (football) and Bridgette Gordon, Tennessee (basketball); 1988 - Will Perdue, Vanderbilt (basketball) and Dara Torres, Florida (swimming); 1987 - Cornelius Bennett, Alabama (football) and Lillie Leatherwood-King, Alabama (track and field); 1986 - Bo Jackson, Auburn (football) and Jennifer Gillom, Ole Miss (basketball); 1985 - Will Clark, Mississippi State (baseball) and Penney Hauschild, Alabama (gymnastics); 1984 - Hoage and Tracy Caulkins, Florida (swimming); 1983 - Walker,; 1982 - Belue; 1981 - Rowdy Gaines, Auburn (swimming); 1980 - Kyle Macy, Kentucky (basketball); 1979 - Reggie King, Alabama (basketball); 1978 - Jack Givens, Kentucky (basketball); 1977 - Larry Seivers, Tennessee (football); and 1976 - Harvey Glance, Auburn (track and field).

HunkerDown Productions

Georgia Official Online Store Committ to the G

Georgia Official Online Store
Photo Store Media Guides