Four Bulldogs Earn NCAA Individual Bids
Hernus Pieters

April 30, 2014

ATHENS-----Four members of the Georgia men's tennis team were awarded at-large bids to the singles and doubles portion of the NCAA Championships to be held May 21-26 at the Dan Magill Tennis Complex. The individual championships will follow the team tournament set for May 15-20 in Athens.

Junior Nathan Pasha and sophomore Austin Smith were selected for the singles draw, while senior Hernus Pieters and sophomore Ben Wagland were selected as a No. 5-8 seed in the doubles draw, which secures All-America honors for the tandem.

Match-ups for the individual tournaments will be announced during the team portion. A total of 64 players will participate in singles in addition to 32 doubles teams.

Georgia players have won the NCAA singles title four times: Mikael Pernfors in 1984 and 1985, and Matias Boeker in 2001 and 2002. Pernfors beat teammate George Bezecny for the crown in 1985. The Bulldogs have won three NCAA doubles titles including Ola Malmqvist and Allen Miller in 1983, Boeker and Travis Parrott in 2001, and John Isner and Antonio Ruiz in 2005.

The Bulldogs (16-7) will begin NCAA Championships play May 10-11, hosting first and second round action at the Dan Magill Tennis Complex. Georgia will open against Ohio Valley Conference champion Jacksonville State May 10 at 1 p.m. NC State and Oregon will play at 10 a.m.



HunkerDown Productions
  • There are no recent results.
  • There are no upcoming events.

Georgia Official Online Store Committ to the G

Georgia Official Online Store
Photo Store Media Guides