Three Bulldogs Earn First Team All-SEC Honors
Garrett Brasseaux

April 24, 2014

ATHENS, Ga. --- Three members of the Georgia men’s tennis team have received Southeastern Conference honors, including a league-leading three players on the All-SEC first team, the conference office announced Thursday afternoon.

Senior Garrett Brasseaux, junior Nathan Pasha, and sophomore Austin Smith all landed on the first team, marking the second consecutive season Georgia has had three players on the elite list and only the second time since 2007. It is the first such honor for Brasseaux and Smith, while Pasha was also named first team in 2013 and to the All-Freshman Team in 2012.

Brasseaux holds a singles record of 18-3, including an 8-2 dual match record and an undefeated 5-0 mark in conference play. He is 13-5 at No. 2 doubles with Pasha, including seven wins in SEC action. He was named the SEC Player of the Week for the first time in his career on April 9.

Pasha is 26-12 overall in singles this season, including nine dual match wins and three SEC victories. He also has eight wins against ranked opponents, good for second-most on the team. He has 13 victories with Brasseaux at No. 2 doubles on the year.

Smith leads the Bulldogs with a 33-10 record in singles, going 15-5 in dual matches and 9-1 in conference play. He has a team-best 14 ranked wins, and is 7-1 in his last 10 outings with a four-match winning streak. He is also 15-2 at No. 3 doubles with Eric Diaz, with a 7-1 SEC record. He garnered SEC Player of the Week honors on March 19.

The NCAA will announce the field of 64 as well as the 16 host sites for first and second round regional action for the NCAA Men’s Tennis Championships on Tues., April 29 at 5 p.m., in a live stream on Singles and doubles draws for the individual tournament will be released April 30.




First Team All-SEC

Daniil Proskura, Alabama

Florent Diep, Florida

Garrett Brasseaux, Georgia

Austin Smith, Georgia

Nathan Pasha, Georgia

Tom Jomby, Kentucky

Nik Scholtz, Ole Miss

Mikelis Libietis, Tennessee

Hunter Reese, Tennessee

Harrison Adams, Texas A&M

Shane Vinsant, Texas A&M

Gonzales Austin, Vanderbilt

Second Team All-SEC

Becker O’Shaughnessey, Alabama

Daniel Cochrane, Auburn

Lukas Ollert, Auburn

Maxx Lipman, Florida 

Gordon Watson, Florida 

Alejandro Gomez, Kentucky

Beck Pennington, Kentucky

Chris Simpson, LSU 

Florian Lakat, Mississippi State

Andrew Adams, South Carolina 

Jeremy Efferding, Texas A&M

Ryan Lipman, Vanderbilt


Nikko Madregallejo, Alabama 

Johan den Toom, Arkansas

Maxx Lipman, Florida

Elliott Orkin, Florida 

Jerry Lopez, Kentucky

Justin Butsch, LSU 

Florian Lakat, Mississippi State

Andrew Schafer, South Carolina

Player of the Year: Nik Scholtz, Ole Miss

Freshman of the Year: Florian Lakat, Mississippi State

Coach of the Year: Steve Denton, Texas A&M

Scholar-Athlete of the Year: Daniil Proskura Alabama

HunkerDown Productions

Georgia Official Online Store Committ to the G

Georgia Official Online Store
Photo Store Media Guides