Haack To Be Inducted Into GCAA Hall Of Fame
Chris Haack

Oct. 31, 2012

ATHENS, Ga. --- Georgia's Chris Haack will be inducted into the Golf Coaches Association of America's Hall of Fame later this year, according to an announcement Wednesday by the GCAA.

Haack, who is in his 17th year with the Bulldogs, has guided Georgia to two NCAA and seven SEC championships. He has a school-record 48 team titles, including at least one tournament victory in 15 of his 17 seasons.

Joining Haack in the Class of 2012 will be LSU's J. Perry Cole, Texas' John Fields Cameron's Jerry Hrnciar, Western Illinois' Harry Mussatto and Odessa College's and SMU's Barry Rodenhaver. Additionally, longtime NCAA rules official Clyde Luther will be honored for his contributions. The GCAA Hall of Fame Reception and Awards Banquet will take place Dec. 10 in Las Vegas.

Haack is the third Georgia coach chosen for the Hall of Fame. Howell Hollis (1946-70) was inducted in 1981 and Dick Copas (1971-96) was inducted in 1993.

"I cannot put into words how humbled I am by this selection," Haack said. "To be in the company of so many giants of our game is such an honor. Coach Hollis and Coach Copas laid the foundation for this program, and I've just tried to be a good steward. We as coaches are only as successful as our athletes, and I've had the distinct pleasure of coaching some pretty special guys. I've also had tremendous assistant coaches in Jim Douglas, Ryan Hybl and Jason Payne. This is an honor that I share with all of them. I just appreciate them taking me along for the ride."

Haack was chosen as the National Coach of the Year in 1999 and 2005 after guiding the Bulldogs to the program's only NCAA titles. He has been picked as the SEC Coach of the Year five times, most recently in 2010. Haack has produced 51 All-Americans, including at least one in 15 straight seasons, and 53 All-SEC performers. He has coached one National Player of the Year, four SEC Players of the Year and seven SEC Freshmen of the Year. Haack added the title of Director of Golf earlier this season.

Haack's fingerprints also can be seen in the professional golf ranks. Bubba Watson won the 2012 Masters and is one of the PGA Tour's most recognizable figures. Ryuji Imada and Chris Kirk also have PGA wins since 2008. On the Web.com Tour, Haack proteges Erik Compton, Harris English, Russell Henley, Imada, Kirk, Kevin Kisner, Hudson Swafford and Brendon Todd have posted wins in recent years.

Haack’s contributions to the GCAA include serving as chair of the All-America, International Selection, Hogan Award and Coaches Poll committees. He also was picked by the GCAA as the captain of the Palmer Cup Teams in 2001 and 2006.



HunkerDown Productions

Georgia Official Online Store Committ to the G

Georgia Official Online Store
Photo Store Media Guides