Henley, English Named To Ben Hogan Award Watch List


Feb. 23, 2011

ATHENS, Ga. --- Georgia golfers Russell Henley and Harris English have been named to the watch list for the 2011 Ben Hogan Award, according to an announcement by the Golf Coaches Association of America.

The Ben Hogan Award is presented annually to the nation’s top collegiate player taking into account all collegiate and amateur competition during the last 12 months. Former Bulldog Chris Kirk won the Hogan Award in 2007.

The Hogan Award semifinalists will be announced April 14. The three finalists will be invited to Colonial Country Club in Fort Worth, Texas, for the Hogan Award presentation on the evening of May 16.

Henley, a senior from Macon, was a finalist for the 2010 Hogan Award and has been named to the watch list each of the past three seasons. Henley posted a 72.33 scoring average in the fall and won the Brickyard Collegiate for the second time in his career. Henley also had top-20 efforts in two other events.

English, a senior from Thomasville, was a semifinalist for the 2010 Award and was also named to the watch list as a freshman in 2008. English posted a scoring average of 72.53 in the fall and had top-20 efforts in all four events.

The Bulldogs will resume their schedule March 11-13, as they compete in the Southern Highlands Collegiate Masters in Las Vegas.

Shop here for Bulldogs gear


At the Official Online Store

    Twitter Facebook Instagram Google