1950 | Schedule | Letterwinners
There were a pair of sensational receivers in Harry Babcock and Bobby Walston, who would become pro football's leading scorer with the Philadelphia Eagles.  Though the defense permitted only 65 points during the season, Georgia lost to Texas A&M, 40-20, in the Presidential Cup, finishing 6-3-3.

1951 | Schedule
| Letterwinners
Wallace Butts introduced Zeke Bratkowski, who would set a three-year conference record of 4,863 yards on 360 completions, to the rest of the Southeastern Conference.  Bratkowski had a posse of receivers in Harry Babcock, John Carson and Zippy Morocco to move the ball.

1952 | Schedule
| Letterwinners
Zeke Bratkowski passed Georgia back into the winning column in 1952.  The Bulldog fans were entertained by seven wins and his tosses to Johnny   Carson, Harry Babcock, Arthur DeCarlo, Bobby Delinger, Jackie Roberts, Dexter Poss and Lauren Hargrove.  Babcock, with 32 receptions, led the SEC and earned All-America honors.  Bratkowski established records with 131 completions, 262 attempts and 1,824 yards.

1953 | Schedule | Letterwinners
Though Georgia only managed three victories, Zeke Bratkowski and Johnny Carson formed an All-America combination in their senior campaigns.  The Bulldogs suffered their worst season under Wallace Butts, and the eight defeats mark the most by any Georgia team.

1954 | Schedule | Letterwinners
With the passing attack graduated to the professional ranks, Georgia put more emphasis on defense.  Captain Joe O'Malley, Don Shea and Roy Wilkins helped mend the fences, while quarterback Jimmy Harper concentrated on the running game with ball carriers like Foots Clemens, Charley Madison, Bobby Garrard and Charlie Harris.

1955 | Schedule
| Letterwinners
Dick Young averaged almost 20 yards per completion.  The 26-7 Clemson victory in Death Valley featured a free-for-all fight in which both benches cleared.  End Roy Wilkins is named All-Southeastern Conference.  Uga I is born on Dec. 2 signaling the new line of Bulldog mascots.

1956 | Schedule
| Letterwinners
Halfback George Whitton earned Academic All-Southeastern Conference recognition, while both end Roy Wilkins and guard Tony Cushenberry are honored as All-SEC on the field.

1957 | Schedule
| Letterwinners
Theron Sapp recovered a fumble and scored the decisive touchdown on the cold November afternoon at Grant Field that provided the Bulldogs with their first victory over Tech in nine years.  He will always be known at Georgia as "The Man Who Broke The Drought."  After his election as captain and an All-SEC performance the following year, Sapp's jersey was retired in 1959.

1958 | Schedule | Letterwinners
In his first collegiate action, Fran Tarkenton directed an improbable 95-yard drive to take the lead against Texas only to lose 13-8 in Austin.  Georgia defeated Tech again by a 16-3 tally for the first back-to-back victories over the Engineers since Charley Trippi departed.

1959 | Schedule
| Letterwinners
Coming off a 10th-place league finish the prior season, Georgia surprised everyone with a 10-1 SEC championship campaign.  The Comeback Kids were led by Fran Tarkenton and Pat Dye.  With less than three minutes remaining against Auburn, Tarkenton spearheaded the winning drive and hooked up with Bill Herron on a fourth-and-13 touchdown pass with 30 seconds left to clinch the SEC title.  The Bulldogs' 14-13 victory took Wallace Butts back to the Orange Bowl, the site of his first and last bowl trips.

HunkerDown Productions
  • There are no recent results.
  • Saturday, Sept 2
    6:15 PM
    vs Appalachian State
    Athens, Ga.
    Saturday, Sept 9
    7:30 PM
    at Notre Dame
    South Bend, Ind.
    Saturday, Sept 16
    vs Samford
    Athens, Ga.
    Saturday, Sept 23
    vs Mississippi State
    Athens, Ga.
    Saturday, Sept 30
    at Tennessee
    Knoxville, Tenn.
    Saturday, Oct 7
    at Vanderbilt
    Nashville, Tenn.
    Saturday, Oct 14
    vs Missouri
    Athens, Ga.

Georgia Official Online Store Committ to the G

Georgia Official Online Store
Photo Store Media Guides