Georgia's Jarvis Jones Named A Finalist For Bronko Nagurski Trophy
Junior OLB Jarvis Jones

Nov. 15, 2012

ATHENS, Ga. --- Georgia junior Jarvis Jones has been named one of five finalists for the Bronko Nagurski Trophy, which is given annually to the nation’s top defensive player.

Jones is one of the five finalists who have been picked from the initial Watch List of 84 players.  The annual Bronko Nagurski Trophy Banquet will be on Dec. 3 at the Westin Hotel in Charlotte, N.C., where the winner will be announced.  The Football Writers Association of America (FWAA) and the Charlotte Touchdown Club determine the winner and present the award.

The NFL Network will televise the event for the first time in history.

The four other finalists include three underclassmen and one senior.  South Carolina sophomore defensive end Jadeveon Clowney, Alabama junior cornerback Dee Milliner, Florida State junior defensive end Bjoern Werner and Notre Dame senior linebacker Manti Te’o were the other finalists.

A 6-3, 241-pound outside linebacker from Columbus, Jones has accumulated 56 tackles, including 17.0 tackles for loss of 100 yards and 10.5 sacks, one interception, five forced fumbles and two fumble recoveries in only eight games this season.  He is the current NCAA active leader in sacks per game (1.1) with 24 in two seasons and in tackles for loss (1.7) with 36.5 through this season and last.

He has twice been named the National Defensive Player of the Week by the Nagurski, Walter Camp and Lott IMPACT awards in 2012 and the SEC Defensive Player of the Week twice this season following his performances at Missouri and versus #3 Florida.

Jones has sparked a defense that has given up a combined 19 points (one touchdown, four field goals) during the team’s last three SEC victories.  During that span, Jones has tallied 20 tackles, including five sacks and 7.5 tackles for loss, two forced fumbles and two fumble recoveries.

Jones earned All-America honors last season after leading the SEC and tying for fifth nationally with 13.5 sacks to go along with 70 tackles, including 19.5 tackles for loss.



Former Bulldog All-American Champ Bailey is the only Georgia player to win the Nagurski Trophy after receiving the honor in 1998.  Former Bulldog and current Kansas City Chief linebacker Justin Houston was a finalist for the honor in 2010.  Also, former Georgia All-American and current ESPN announcer David Pollack was a finalist in 2002 and 2004.

Jones has already been named a semifinalist for the Bednarik, Maxwell, Butkus, Lott IMPACT and Lombardi awards.

The fifth-ranked Bulldogs (9-1, 7-1 SEC) host Georgia Southern (8-2, 6-2, SoCon) at Sanford Stadium on Saturday.  WSB-Atlanta will televise the matchup at 1:30 p.m. ET.

HunkerDown Productions
  • There are no recent results.
  • Saturday, Sept 2
    6:15 PM
    vs Appalachian State
    Athens, Ga.
    Saturday, Sept 9
    7:30 PM
    at Notre Dame
    South Bend, Ind.
    Saturday, Sept 16
    vs Samford
    Athens, Ga.
    Saturday, Sept 23
    vs Mississippi State
    Athens, Ga.
    Saturday, Sept 30
    at Tennessee
    Knoxville, Tenn.
    Saturday, Oct 7
    at Vanderbilt
    Nashville, Tenn.
    Saturday, Oct 14
    vs Missouri
    Athens, Ga.

Georgia Official Online Store Committ to the G

Georgia Official Online Store
Photo Store Media Guides