Georgia's Aaron Murray Named NFF National Scholar Athlete Nominee
Aaron Murray

Oct. 3, 2013

ATHENS, Ga. --- Georgia senior quarterback Aaron Murray has been selected as one of 170 candidates for the National Football Foundation (NFF) National Scholar-Athlete Awards.

Murray and the other nominees also comprise the list of semifinalists for the William V. Campbell Trophy, which recognizes an individual as the absolute best scholar-athlete in the nation.

Candidates for the awards must be a senior or graduate student in their final year of eligibility, have a GPA of at least 3.2 on a 4.0 scale, have outstanding football ability as a first team player or significant contributor and have demonstrated strong leadership and citizenship.  The class is selected each year by the NFF Awards Committee, which is comprised of a nationally recognized group of media, College Football Hall of Famers and athletics administrators.

A native of Tampa, Fla., Murray graduated with a degree in Psychology in 2011 after posting a GPA of 3.3 and then posted a 4.0 as he started graduate school classes.  He is currently taking undergraduate classes towards another degree.  Murray was named to the 2012 Allstate AFCA Good Works Team and was the overall male winner of the Peach of an Athlete Award thanks to his contributions in the community and stellar work on the field and in the classroom.

Murray is on the edge of setting several Southeastern Conference career records.  He is at 11,429 passing yards and will move into the No. 1 spot with 100 more yards and he is at 106 touchdown passes and will have the league’s most scoring strikes in history with nine more.  Murray is the only quarterback in SEC history to throw for 3,000 yards or more in each of his first three seasons.

So far this season, Murray has been named the Walter Camp National Offensive Player of the Week twice during victories over #6 South Carolina and #6 LSU.  During that stretch, he has combined to go 27-for-57 for 607 yards and eight touchdowns and only a single interception while also rushing for a score.



The NFF Awards Committee will select up to 16 recipients, and the results will be announced via a national press release on Oct. 31.  Each recipient will receive an $18,000 postgraduate scholarship, and they will vie as finalists for the 2013 William V. Campbell Trophy.  Each member of the 2013 National Scholar-Athlete Class will also travel to New York City to be honored Dec. 10 during the 56th NFF Annual Awards Dinner at the Waldorf-Astoria where their accomplishments will be highlighted in front of one of the most powerful audiences in all of sports.  One member of the class will also be announced live at the event as the winner of the William V. Campbell Trophy.

Since the inception of the Campbell Trophy in 1990, an SEC student-athlete has claimed the award eight times.  Former Bulldog Matt Stinchcomb won the award in 1998.  Last year, senior snapper Ty Frix was on the NFF list and a semifinalist for the Campbell Trophy as well.

HunkerDown Productions
  • There are no recent results.
  • Saturday, Sept 2
    6:15 PM
    vs Appalachian State
    Athens, Ga.
    Saturday, Sept 9
    7:30 PM
    at Notre Dame
    South Bend, Ind.
    Saturday, Sept 16
    vs Samford
    Athens, Ga.
    Saturday, Sept 23
    vs Mississippi State
    Athens, Ga.
    Saturday, Sept 30
    at Tennessee
    Knoxville, Tenn.
    Saturday, Oct 7
    at Vanderbilt
    Nashville, Tenn.
    Saturday, Oct 14
    vs Missouri
    Athens, Ga.

Georgia Official Online Store Committ to the G

Georgia Official Online Store
Photo Store Media Guides