Three Bulldogs Featured On 2012 Maxwell, Bednarik Award Watch Lists
John Jenkins is one of two Bulldogs on the Bednarik Award Watch List.

July 9, 2012

ATHENS, Ga. --- Two Georgia football players have been named to the Bednarik Award Watch List while one Bulldog is listed on the preseason Maxwell Award Watch List.

Junior outside linebacker Jarvis Jones and senior nose tackle John Jenkins are two of 65 players chosen to vie for the 2012 Bednarik Award.  Junior quarterback Aaron Murray is one of 23 quarterbacks included on the list for the Maxwell Award.

The Bednarik Award has been presented to the nation's top defensive player since 1995. A former standout at Penn and with the Philadelphia Eagles, Chuck Bednarik is a member of both the College Football Hall of Fame's Class of '69 and the NFL Hall of Fame's Class of '67.  This is the 18th-annual Bednarik Award. 

Georgia’s David Pollack won the Bednarik Award in 2004. 

The Maxwell Award has been given to America's outstanding collegiate football player since 1937, and is named in honor of sportswriter Robert W. "Tiny" Maxwell.  This marks the 76th Maxwell Award given.

The Bulldogs have had a pair of Maxwell Award winners – Charley Trippi in 1946 and Herschel Walker in 1982.

A native of Columbus, Jones was a unanimous First Team All-American following the 2011 season after he led the SEC in both sacks (13.5) and tackles for loss (19.5).  Last year marked his first season playing for the Bulldogs after he transferred from USC and then redshirted the 2010 campaign.

Jenkins, a native of Meriden, Conn., made an immediate impact for Georgia in 2011 during his first season in Athens.  The 6-3, 351-pound Jenkins played in all 14 games, including starting seven of the last nine, and tallied 28 tackles, three sacks and six tackles for loss.  He also forced a fumble, recovered a fumble and had an interception from his spot in the middle of the Bulldog defensive line.



A Tampa, Fla., native, Murray finished the 2011 season with a school record 35 touchdown passes and set a school record for touchdown responsibility by a quarterback in a season with 37 (two rushing).  Murray is the SEC’s leading active player in total offensive yards (6,476), completions (447), touchdown responsibility (65), touchdown passes (59) and passing yards (6,198).  He also graduated in May 2012 and is now in graduate school.

Semifinalists for the Maxwell and Bednarik Awards will be announced October 29, and the three finalists for each award will be unveiled November 19.  The winners of the 2012 Maxwell and Bednarik Awards will be announced as part of the Home Depot ESPNU College Football Awards Show held on December 6.  The formal presentation of these awards will be made at the Maxwell Football Club Awards Gala hosted by Harrah's Entertainment Atlantic City on March 1, 2013.

HunkerDown Productions
  • There are no recent results.
  • Saturday, Sept 2
    6:15 PM
    vs Appalachian State
    Athens, Ga.
    Saturday, Sept 9
    7:30 PM
    at Notre Dame
    South Bend, Ind.
    Saturday, Sept 16
    vs Samford
    Athens, Ga.
    Saturday, Sept 23
    vs Mississippi State
    Athens, Ga.
    Saturday, Sept 30
    at Tennessee
    Knoxville, Tenn.
    Saturday, Oct 7
    at Vanderbilt
    Nashville, Tenn.
    Saturday, Oct 14
    vs Missouri
    Athens, Ga.

Georgia Official Online Store Committ to the G

Georgia Official Online Store
Photo Store Media Guides