UGA Spring Football Awards Announced
Hutson Mason joined Aaron Murray as the MVPs on offense during the spring.

April 13, 2012

ATHENS, Ga. --- University of Georgia head coach Mark Richt announced the team’s spring football awards on Friday in conjunction with the coming weekend’s annual spring G-Day football game.

The awards are given annually at the conclusion of spring practice to recognize improvement, dedication and performance on the field. 

Highlighting the list of awards were the recipients of the long-standing Coffee County Hustle Award given annually to the players showing the most desire during spring drills.  Recipients include Kolton Houston, OG, Buford, Ga. (for the second year in a row), Michael Erdman, SE, Merritt Island, Fla., and Garrison Smith, DE, Atlanta, Ga.

The list of 2012 awards is as follows:

MVP (offense)Aaron Murray, QB, Tampa, Fla.; Hutson Mason, QB, Marietta, Ga.

True Grit Award (offense)Arthur Lynch, TE, Dartmouth, Mass.

Coffee County Hustle Award (offense)Kolton Houston, OG, Buford, Ga.; Michael Erdman, SE, Merritt Island, Fla.

Most Improved Player (offense)Ken Malcome, TB, Decatur, Ga.

Outstanding Walk-On (offense)Merritt Hall, FB, Alpharetta, Ga.

MVP (defense)Jarvis Jones, OLB, Columbus, Ga.; John Jenkins, N, Meriden, Conn.



True Grit Award (defense)Shawn Williams, SS, Damascus, Ga.

Coffee County Hustle Award (defense)Garrison Smith, DE, Atlanta, Ga.

Most Improved Player (defense)Damian Swann, CB, Atlanta, Ga.; Ramik Wilson, ILB, Tampa, Fla.

Outstanding Walk-On (defense)Connor Norman, SS, Duluth, Ga.

HunkerDown Productions
  • There are no recent results.
  • Saturday, Sept 2
    6:15 PM
    vs Appalachian State
    Athens, Ga.
    Saturday, Sept 9
    7:30 PM
    at Notre Dame
    South Bend, Ind.
    Saturday, Sept 16
    vs Samford
    Athens, Ga.
    Saturday, Sept 23
    vs Mississippi State
    Athens, Ga.
    Saturday, Sept 30
    at Tennessee
    Knoxville, Tenn.
    Saturday, Oct 7
    at Vanderbilt
    Nashville, Tenn.
    Saturday, Oct 14
    vs Missouri
    Athens, Ga.

Georgia Official Online Store Committ to the G

Georgia Official Online Store
Photo Store Media Guides