Caldwell-Pope Named 2013 AP SEC Player of the Year
Kentavious Caldwell-Pope

March 18, 2013

ATHENS ---- Georgia sophomore Kentavious Caldwell-Pope was named Monday the 2013 Southeastern Conference Player of the Year by the Associated Press.

In addition, Caldwell-Pope was the only unanimous choice to the 5-man AP All-SEC first team that included Erik Murphy of Florida; Trevor Releford of Alabama, Jordan McRae of Tennessee and Nerlens Noel of Kentucky.

Caldwell-Pope, a 6-5 guard from Greenville, Ga., currently leads the Bulldogs and ranks second in the SEC in scoring at 18.5 points per game.  In fact, he ranks among the SEC leaders in nine of the 13 categories for which individual statistics are kept.  He has led Georgia in scoring in 29 of 32 regular-season games, in rebounding in 16 games.  He's one of just nine players in all of NCAA Division I to have scored in double figures in each of their teams' games.

Caldwell-Pope has also earned a reputation for his performance in clutch situations.  In the last five minutes of SEC games this season, he averaged 5.4 points (projects to 43.2 points over a 40-minute game), shooting 65 percent from the field, 63 percent from 3-point range and 83 percent from the free-throw line.  In fact, he scored 31 percent of his total of 332 points in SEC play during the last five minutes.

A week ago Caldwell-Pope became the first Georgia player to win the Coaches' POY award since its official inception in the 1986-87 season.  He's just the second Bulldog to win any SEC Player-of-the-Year trophy since wire services began naming recipients in 1965.  Dominique Wilkins won the award in 1981, also as a sophomore, as given by the Associated Press and United Press International.

The Bulldogs ended their season at 15-17 overall, 9-9 in SEC games.  Caldwell-Pope netted a career-high 32 points, including 25 in the second half, along with 13 rebounds in the finale against LSU at the SEC Tournament.



The Associated Press 2013 All-SEC Teams


u-Kentavious Caldwell-Pope, Georgia, G, 6-5, So.

Erik Murphy, Florida, F/C, 6-10, Sr.

Trevor Releford, Alabama, G, 6-0, Jr.

Jordan McRae, Tennessee, G, 6-5, Jr.

Nerlens Noel, Kentucky, F, 6-10, Fr.

u - unanimous selection


Marshall Henderson, Mississippi, G, 6-2, Jr.

Elston Turner, Texas A&M, G, 6-5, Sr.

Jarnell Stokes, Tennessee, F, 6-8, So.

Johnny O'Bryant III, LSU, F, 6-9, So.

Murphy Holloway, Mississippi, F, 6-7, Sr.

Phil Pressey, Missouri, G, 5-11, Jr.


Laurence Bowers, Missouri, F, 6-8, Sr.; Kenny Boynton, Florida, G, 6-2, Sr.; Alex Oriakhi, Missouri, F, 6-9, Sr.; Marshawn Powell, Arkansas, F, 6-7, Jr.; Mike Rosario, Florida, G, 6-3, Sr.; Scottie Wilbekin, Florida, G, 6-2, Jr.; BJ Young, Arkansas, G, 6-3, So.; Patric Young, Florida, C, 6-9, Jr.

PLAYER OF THE YEAR -- Kentavious Caldwell-Pope, Georgia

COACH OF THE YEAR -- Billy Donovan, Florida

NEWCOMER OF THE YEAR -- Marshall Henderson, Mississippi

HunkerDown Productions
  • There are no recent results.
  • There are no upcoming events.

Georgia Official Online Store Committ to the G

Georgia Official Online Store
Photo Store Media Guides