Layne Named SEC Basketball Legend
D.A. Layne

Jan. 22, 2014

ATHENS --- D.A. Layne, a three-time All-SEC guard from 1999-2001, will represent Georgia as part of the 2014 class of the Allstate SEC Basketball Legends, as announced today by the league office in Birmingham. This group, which includes one ex-player or coach from each of the 14 member institutions, will be honored at the SEC Tournament March 12-17 in Atlanta.

Each Allstate SEC Basketball legend will be recognized at halftime of his institution’s first tournament game. He will also make appearances at the Sunkist Soda SEC FanFare exhibition. 

Layne, a native of Marietta and product of Wheeler High School, ranks as one of the most productive and highest-scoring guards in Georgia basketball history. The Marietta, Ga., native was a unanimous Freshman All-SEC choice in 1999, when he averaged 13 points per game and earned a starting job for the second half of the season. As a sophomore in 2000, Layne averaged 18.3 points per game and was a second-team All-SEC selection. The following year he earned first-team all-conference honors, averaged 17 points per game and guided the Bulldogs toward the program’s first NCAA Tournament berth in four years. Layne finished his Bulldog career with 1,451 points, which still ranks 10th in UGA history, and at one time he held school records in 3-pointers made and attempted.

This marks the 16th year of the SEC Basketball Legends program. Previous representatives from Georgia include: 1999 – Vern Fleming; 2000 – Alec Kessler; 2001 – Zippy Morocco; 2002 – Dominique Wilkins; 2003 – James Banks; 2004 – Lavon Mercer; 2005 – Ronnie Hogue; 2006 – Joe Ward; 2007 – Litterial Green; 2008 – Hugh Durham; 2009 – Shandon Anderson; 2010 - Tom Brennan; 2011 - Walter Daniels; 2012 - Willie Anderson; 2013 - Tim Bassett.



HunkerDown Productions
  • There are no recent results.
  • There are no upcoming events.

Georgia Official Online Store Committ to the G

Georgia Official Online Store
Photo Store Media Guides