Robert Tyler Named SEC Freshman Of The Week
Freshman Robert Tyler is 1-0 with a 0.93 ERA this season.

March 10, 2014

ATHENS-----University of Georgia pitcher Robert Tyler has been named the SEC Freshman of the Week, the league office announced Monday.

A 6-4, 210-pound native of Cordele, Ga., Tyler pitched nine scoreless innings in two appearances last week. He tossed eight scoreless innings in a combined shutout of Georgia Tech last Tuesday in Athens. He held Tech hitters to a .074 average (2-for-27), allowing a pair of singles and got a no decision. He pitched an inning of relief this past Sunday in a win over Western Carolina.

Overall, Tyler leads the club with a 0.93 Earned Run Average in five appearances including two starts. In 19.1 innings pitched, he has 15 strikeouts and only two walks with opponents batting .157 against him.

Tyler’s next action will likely be in a starting role against 24th-ranked Mississippi State this coming weekend at Foley Field. Georgia’s SEC rotation will be announced later this week.


 

 

HunkerDown Productions
  • There are no recent results.
  • Saturday, Apr 29
    L, 6-3
    vs Florida
    Athens, Ga.

    TV
    Sunday, Apr 30
    1:00 PM
    vs Florida
    Athens, Ga.

    TV
    Friday, May 5
    6:30 PM
    at Kentucky
    Lexington, Ky.
    Saturday, May 6
    6:30 PM
    at Kentucky
    Lexington, Ky.
    Sunday, May 7
    1:00 PM
    at Kentucky
    Lexington, Ky.
    Tuesday, May 9
    7:00 PM
    vs Georgia Tech
    SunTrust Park (Atlanta)
    Friday, May 12
    7:00 PM
    vs Mississippi State
    Athens, Ga.

    TV
    Saturday, May 13
    4:00 PM
    vs Mississippi State
    Athens, Ga.

    TV
    Sunday, May 14
    1:00 PM
    vs Mississippi State
    Athens, Ga.

    TV
    Tuesday, May 16
    6:00 PM
    vs Furman
    Athens, Ga.
    TV
VIEW FULL COMPOSITE CALENDAR

Georgia Official Online Store Committ to the G

Georgia Official Online Store
Photo Store Media Guides




SPONSORS