Georgia's Bridget Lyons Earns SEC Community Service Post-Graduate Scholarship

April 5, 2011

BIRMINGHAM, Ala. - University of Georgia senior track and field athlete Bridget Lyons has been named one of two of the 2010-11 Brad Davis Southeastern Conference Community Service Leaders of the Year, Commissioner Mike Slive announced Tuesday.

University of Mississippi track and field athlete Barnabas Kirui was honored as the other SEC Leader of the Year.

The two were chosen by a committee of Faculty Athletics Representatives from SEC universities. Each will receive a $6,000 post-graduate scholarship, provided by the SEC.

In addition, Bulldog senior triple jumper Asaph Levy was one of 22 other recipients for the Brad Davis Community Service Award and will receive a $3000 scholarship, also provided by the SEC.

"The Southeastern Conference is proud to honor the efforts of Barnabas and Bridget to make their communities a better place to live," said Slive. "Barnabas and Bridget are fine representatives of their families, their institutions, the Southeastern Conference and intercollegiate athletics."

The SEC Community Service Post-Graduate Scholarship was named for former Associate Commissioner Brad Davis. Davis succumbed to cancer on March 2, 2006. He had been a member of the SEC staff since 1988, first serving as an assistant commissioner until 1994 when he was promoted to associate commissioner.

Lyons, a native of Evans, Ga., will earn a B.S. degree in Biology and a B.A. degree in Spanish this spring. She is a member of the Phi Beta Kappa Honor Society and the Alpha Epsilon Delta premedical honor society as well as being a Presidential Scholar at UGA. She is also a member of the National Society of Collegiate Scholars and the Delta Epsilon Iota academic honor society.

Lyons captured her first conference title with a win in the 10,000 meters and was Georgia's top scorer (14 points) at the 2010 SEC Outdoor Championships. She also had a runner-up finish in the 5,000 meters at the 2010 SEC Indoors as well. She was a co-captain on the 2009 Lady Bulldog cross country team and deferred dental school in 2011 in order to run another year for Georgia.



In 2011, she received the overall "Peach of an Athlete Award," given by the Atlanta area Boy Scout Council to student-athletes participating in outstanding community service. She also earned U.S. Track & Field and Cross Country Coaches Association All-Academic Team honors.

Most notably, Lyons has volunteered extensively at the Mercy Health Clinic in Athens, with project FOCUS and with parent-teacher conference translating for Hands on Northeast Georgia.

Lyons has also volunteered at Hope Dental Clinic, Oasis after School for Spanish-speaking elementary school students, American Cancer Society's Relay for Life and Town and Gown Theatre Company.

The daughter of Jill Miller and Mike Lyons, she is the student-athlete representative to the UGA Athletic Association Board of Directors.

Levy, originally from Toronto, Canada, will earn a B.S. degree in Biology in May 2011. He was a member of 2010 U.S. Track & Field and Cross Country Coaches Association All-Academic Team and on the Dean's List and SEC Academic Honor Roll.

A three-year letter winner for UGA as a triple jumper, Levy advanced to the NCAA East Regional in the event. He has traveled a career-best distance of 49 feet, 9 inches for the Bulldogs and scored twice with eighth-place finishes at the SEC Championships.

Levy is the founder and Vice-President of the UGA Biology and Life Sciences Association and a member of Peach State Louis Stokes Alliance for Minority Participation. He also served as a mentor to students at Barrow Elementary School and volunteered at St. Mary's Hospital and with Heroes, a program for HIV and Aids awareness for young children.

The graduate of Kennesaw Mountain High School (Ga.) is the son of Dane and Karrol Levy.

Also, 10 other male and 11 other female recipients for the Brad Davis SEC Community Service Award will receive a $3000 scholarship.

In addition to Levy, the 11 other male recipients are: Daniel Armstrong, Swimming and Diving, Alabama; Chris Nott, Tennis, Arkansas; Justin Hargett, Baseball, Auburn; Robert Walsh, Swimming and Diving, Florida; Marcus Davis, Football, Kentucky; Kyle Rose, Track and Field, LSU; Mark Melichar, Football, Mississippi State; Michael Zajac, Track and Field, South Carolina; Michael Wright, Swimming and Diving, Tennessee; Bram Chisholm, Track and Field, Vanderbilt.

The 11 other female recipients are: Jessica Allaway, Rowing, Alabama; Britni Williams, Soccer, Arkansas; Addison Ragsdale, Soccer, Auburn; Megan Bush, Softball, Florida; Samantha DeMartine, Softball, Kentucky; Courtney Alexander, Soccer, LSU; Juliana Smith, Track and Field, Ole Miss; Courtney Nesbit, Softball, Mississippi State; Jewel May, Basketball, South Carolina; Jackie Areson, Track and Field, Tennessee; Rebecca Silinski, Basketball, Vanderbilt.

The SEC Community Service Post-Graduate Scholarship was first presented in 1996. Past Leaders of the Year from Georgia include: 2010 - John Egan, Georgia (track and field); 2004 -Virginia Pate, Georgia (swimming & diving); 2003 - Brett Kirouac, Georgia (football); 2000 - Brett Millican, Georgia (football).

HunkerDown Productions
  • There are no recent results.
  • There are no upcoming events.

Georgia Official Online Store Committ to the G

Georgia Official Online Store
Photo Store Media Guides