Welch, Lomnicka Lead Georgia Track & Field At ASU Invite

March 26, 2011

2011 ASU Invite - Day One ResultsGet Acrobat Reader

TEMPE, Ariz. --- Freshman Justin Welch launched the third-longest hammer throw in the nation this year to win at the Arizona State Invitational late Friday.

Welch had a second attempt that measured 222 feet, 4 inches to pick up a 14-foot win over Collin Post. Welch moved into the No. 8 spot on Georgia's all-time top-10 list during only the second collegiate outdoor meet of his career.

In the women's hammer, junior Nikola Lomnicka returned from an offseason knee injury to win with a mark of 209. This gave Lomnicka, who is the defending NCAA champion in the event, a 21-foot victory and the second-longest throw in the country this year.

The ASU Invite as well as the SEC vs. Big Ten Challenge in Starkville, Miss., will be held today for the rest of Georgia's track and field teams.

HunkerDown Productions
  • There are no recent results.
  • Saturday, Jan 7
    All Day
    at Orange & Purple Classic
    Clemson, S.C.

    Saturday, Jan 21
    All Day
    at Texas A&M Quad Meet
    College Station, Texas

    Saturday, Jan 28
    All Day
    at Razorback Invitational
    Fayetteville, Ark.

    Sunday, Jan 29
    All Day
    at Razorback Invitational
    Fayetteville, Ark.

    Friday, Feb 10
    All Day
    at Music City Challenge
    Nashville, Tenn.

    Saturday, Feb 11
    All Day
    at Music City Challenge
    Nashville, Tenn.

    Friday, Feb 24
    All Day
    at SEC Indoor Championships
    Nashville, Tenn.

    Saturday, Feb 25
    All Day
    at SEC Indoor Championships
    Nashville, Tenn.

    Friday, Mar 10
    All Day
    at NCAA Indoor Championships
    College Station, Texas

    Saturday, Mar 11
    All Day
    at NCAA Indoor Championships
    College Station, Texas

VIEW FULL COMPOSITE CALENDAR

Georgia Official Online Store Committ to the G

Georgia Official Online Store
Photo Store Media Guides




SPONSORS