Bauerle Chosen As Bill Hartman Award Recipient
Jack Bauerle

Sept. 29, 2011

ATHENS, Ga. --- Jack Bauerle, who has led Georgia's women's swimming and diving program to four national championships and who has served as the head coach at the Olympics, has been chosen as the recipient of the Bill Hartman Award.
Bauerle will be recognized at the Georgia-Mississippi State football game on Saturday and will receive the award on Friday, April 13, 2012.
Named for the late Bill Hartman, Georgia's long-time kicking coach and chairman of the Georgia Student Educational Fund, the Hartman Award is one of the highest honors given to a former UGA student-athlete. The Hartman Award has been presented annually since 1992 and recognizes former Georgia student-athletes who have demonstrated excellence in their profession and/or in service to others by 20 or more years of superior performance after graduation. Only former varsity athletes who have received a baccalaureate degree from Georgia can be considered for the award.
"To receive an award with Bill Hartman's name on it means the world to me," Bauerle said. "It makes you feel like you've done your job. If there was ever a guy who worked and produced and didn't ask anything for it, it was Bill Hartman. Everything he did was for the love of Georgia. His presence will always loom large over Georgia. Having the privilege of knowing Bill and Barbara (Hartman's son and daughter) makes the award even more special.
"I am extremely honored and humbled by this recognition. I may be the one receiving this award, but it's really a testament to the assistant coaches, student-athletes, administration and support staff we've had through the years. It's been a great ride, and I appreciate all of them letting me come along. The thing I'm most proud of is not everything that we've won, but that we're good all the time. I think the hardest thing in sports is being consistently good, and our program manages that in competition, in the classroom and in the community."

Bauerle, a native of Glenside, Pa., began his career at Georgia as a record-setting swimmer from 1971 to 1974. After serving as an assistant coach, he took over as the head coach for the women's program in 1979 and then added the title of men's coach in 1983.
Bauerle has guided the Lady Bulldogs to four national championships and six runner-up finishes as well as eight Southeastern Conference titles. Bauerle has been chosen as the NCAA Coach of the Year five times and as the SEC Coach of the Year 15 times. He has produced 77 individual national champions, including five last season.

Bauerle will enter the 2011-12 season as the winningest women's head coach in NCAA history (269 wins), the winningest head coach for both women and men in SEC history (457) and the fourth-winningest head coach for both women and men in NCAA history (457).

Bauerle also has left his fingerprints on United States swimming. He served as the head coach for the women at the 2008 Olympics, and he led Team USA to an Olympics-best 14 medals. Bauerle also has been a head coach three times for the World Championships, including 2011, and he has coaching experience at the Pan Pacific Games, the World University Games and the Duel in the Pool.

Bauerle recently was chosen for induction into the Georgia Sports Hall of Fame and the Montgomery (Pa.) County Coaches Hall of Fame.

"The Bill Hartman is yet another well-deserved honor for Jack Bauerle," Georgia Director of Athletics Greg McGarity said. "He has given so much to the University of Georgia and has worked tirelessly on the school's behalf. I am so proud of everything he's done to make the University of Georgia a better place."

Previous Hartman Award winners include former NFL quarterback Fran Tarkenton (1992); Atlanta Olympic Committee CEO and Augusta National chairman Billy Payne (1992); former Gov. Carl Sanders (1993); Atlanta developer Tom Cousins (1993); legendary former tennis coach Dan Magill (1994); former high school coach Billy Henderson (1995); former Lt. Gov. Pierre Howard (1996); noted amateur golfer Jimmy Gabrielsen (1997); physician Dr. Andy Roddenbery (1998); Athens businessman Hilton Young Jr. (1999); Harvard University Department of Dermatology Chief of Staff Dr. Becky Birchmore Campen (2000); vascular surgeon Dr. Thomas Lawhorne (2001); endoscopic laser surgeon Dr. Thomas Lyons (2002); neurosurgeon and former team physician Dr. Robert E. Dicks III (2003); Atlanta businessman William Young (2004); longtime juvenile court judge, the Hon. Aaron Cohn (2005); housing developer Keith McSwain (2006); Athens transportation executive Mack H. Guest III (2007); pulmonary and critical care specialist Dr. Kathy McMinn (2008); Coca-Cola executive Frank Ros (2009); and college, professional and international basketball standout Teresa Edwards (2010).



HunkerDown Productions
  • There are no recent results.
  • There are no upcoming events.

Georgia Official Online Store Committ to the G

Georgia Official Online Store
Photo Store Media Guides