2006 Swimming & Diving Season Review

 Schedule and Results | Roster | Coaches

2006 Men's Season Review

Bulldogs finish ninth at NCAAs

It was another stellar year for the Georgia swimming and diving program as the Bulldogs finished ninth at the NCAA Championship.

"We couldn't be happier," Georgia head coach Jack Bauerle said. "We came in 13th on paper and we finished ninth. We only had nine guys here, but they were nine tough guys. It was a real team performance by this group. It was a fitting end to a great season. I am really proud of them."

The Bulldogs placed No. 10 in the final Smith/CSCAA Top 25 Poll.

The Bulldogs were led by Chris Colwill and Sebastien Rouault at the NCAAs held in Atlanta at Georgia Tech's Aquatic Center.

Colwill won the 1- and 3-meter springboard diving titles at the NCAAs, becoming Georgia's first diving national champion. He also placed second on the platform event.

For his efforts, Colwill was chosen as the National Diver of the Year. Dan Laak was selected as the National Diving Coach of the Year.

"The diving awards are a real honor for our program," Laak said. "All of our guys were unbelievable this year. For Chris to do what he did this weekend, he really deserves this award. I'm honored to receive the Coach of the Year award because it's voted on by my peers."

Rouault won the 1,650-yard freestyle at the NCAAs to give the Bulldogs three individual national championships. Entering the NCAAs, the Bulldogs boasted four individual winners in the program's history.


Conference call

The Bulldogs placed third at the Southeastern Conference Championship in Knoxville, Tenn., trailing only Auburn and Florida.

Chris Colwill won both springboards and the platform crowns at the SEC Championships, just the second man ever to accomplish that feat. Colwill was chosen as the SEC Diver of the Year and Dan Laak was picked as the SEC Coach of the Year.

Sebastien Rouault claimed the 1,650 and 500 freestyle and the 400 individual medley crowns at the SEC Championship. Rouault and Colwill shared the Commissioner's Trophy for high-point honors at the SECs.

Colwill and Rouault garnered First-Team All-SEC honors, while Matthew Owen was named to the Second Team.

2006 Women's Season Review

Lady Bulldogs finish second at NCAAs

It was another stellar year for the Georgia swimming and diving program as the Lady Bulldogs finished second at the NCAA Championships.

The Lady Bulldogs, who placed No. 1 in the final Smith/CSCAA Top 25 Poll, had their eighth top-2 finish at the NCAAs in as many years.

The Lady Bulldogs were led by Mary DeScenza and Kara Lynn Joyce, both of whom received National Swimmer of the Year recognition.

DeScenza won the 100- and 200-yard butterfly events at the NCAA Championships. She also swam on two victorious relays and a third that set the American record. DeScenza earned seven All-America citations, giving her the maximum 28 for her career. DeScenza became the first woman to win the 200 butterfly four straight years. DeScenza also led off the 400-yard freestyle relay team that finished second and set the American record with a time of 3:13.38.

Joyce won three individual events and was on two victorious relays at the NCAAs. Joyce won the 50-, 100- and 200-yard freestyle events, taking the 50 and the 100 titles for the third straight year.

Coach Jack Bauerle won the National Coach of the Year award for the fifth time in his career. Bauerle led the Lady Bulldogs to their third straight undefeated dual-meet season.


At the NCAAs

The Lady Bulldogs put on quite a show in their home pool as the NCAAs went down to the last race of the three-day event. All told, Georgia won eight events: Laura Conway in the 500 free; Kara Lynn Joyce in the 50, 100 and 200 freestyle; Mary DeScenza in the 100 and 200 butterfly; the 200 medley relay and the 800 freestyle relay.

"It was a great meet," Georgia coach Jack Bauerle said. "There were a lot of ups and downs. We're so proud of our kids. They are an exceptional team. We're happy for Auburn, but we are so proud of our swimmers. I know they're hurting, but we'll make it through."


Conference call

The Lady Bulldogs won the Southeastern Conference title in Knoxville, Tenn., edging rival Auburn in the final relay of the event. The Lady Bulldogs finished with 1,094 points and Auburn recorded 1,075.

Mary DeScenza and Kara Lynn Joyce, both of whom won three individual events, shared SEC Swimmer of the Year honors. Jessica Cole was named the SEC Freshman of the Year. Eight Lady Bulldogs -- Joyce, Cole, DeScenza, Tricia Harm, Sarah Poewe, Anna Miller, Laura Conway and Karen Guilkey -- were named First-Team All-SEC, while Aleksandra Putra was chosen for the Second Team.

Coach Jack Bauerle also was named SEC Coach of the Year for the third straight year and the 11th time overall.

"This was the best SECs we've ever had, and it was the sweetest one we've ever had," Bauerle said. "We've got such an exceptionally tough group of kids. They really gutted it out. I could not be more elated, and I am especially happy for our seniors."

HunkerDown Productions
  • There are no recent results.
  • There are no upcoming events.

Georgia Official Online Store Committ to the G

Georgia Official Online Store
Photo Store Media Guides