Lady Bulldogs Sweep SEC Swimming And Diving Individual Awards
Laura Ryan and Coach Dan Laak

April 10, 2014

ATHENS, Ga. --- Brittany MacLean, Laura Ryan, Olivia Smoliga and Shannon Vreeland gave Georgia a clean sweep in the Southeastern Conference women's swimming and diving awards announced on Thursday by the league office.

MacLean was named the SEC Swimmer of the Year, Ryan earned SEC Diver of the Year honors, Smoliga was picked as the SEC Freshman of the Year and Vreeland was selected as the SEC Scholar-Athlete of the Year. In addition, Dan Laak was recognized as the Women's Diving Coach of the Year.

MacLean, a sophomore from Etobicoke, Ontario, Canada, won the 500 and 1,650 freestyle races and was on the victorious 800 freestyle relay at the SECs as the Lady Bulldogs claimed their fifth straight conference title. MacLean followed up that performance by winning the 500 and 1,650 freestyle titles at the NCAAs and earning Swimmer of the Meet honors to help Georgia win its second consecutive national championship.

Ryan, a senior from Elk River, Minn., finished first on 3-meter, second on platform and third on 1-meter at the SECs and was chosen as the Diver of the Meet. At the NCAAs, she became Georgia's first national champion as she won the 1- and 3-meter titles and was picked as the Diver of the Meet.

Smoliga, a freshman from Glenville, Ill., won the 50 and 100 freestyle at the SECs and helped the 200 medley and the 200 and 400 freestyle relays finish first. She earned the Commissioner's Trophy for high-point honors. Smoliga continued her success at the NCAAs as she won the national title in the 50 freestyle.



Vreeland, a senior from Overland Park, Kansas, boasts a 3.83 grade point average in Economics. She is a recipient of the Ramsey Scholarship for Academic and Athletic Excellence, and she previously has been recognized as an Academic All-American and Scholar All-American. Vreeland won the 200 freestyle and was on the victorious 400 and 800 freestyle relays at the SECs. She ended her career as a 19-time All-American, a seven-time SEC champion and a four-time NCAA champion.

Laak earned Diving Coach of the Year honors for the fourth time, but for the first time on the women's side. He coached gold medalists Ryan and Ann-Perry Blank (1-meter) at the SEC meet and then oversaw Ryan's record-setting performance at the NCAAs. Laak just completed his 27th season at Georgia.

The All-SEC First Team featured 11 Lady Bulldogs: MacLean, Ryan, Smoliga, Vreeland, Blank, Jessica Graber, Lauren Harrington, Maddie Locus, Melanie Margalis, Amber McDermott and Chantal Van Landeghem. Hali Flickinger, Annie Zhu and Rachel Zilinskas made the Second Team, and Smoliga and Zilinskas headlined the All-Freshman Team.

On the men's side, SEC champions Nicolas Fink (100 breaststroke) and Chase Kalisz (400 individual medley) were chosen for the First Team. Taylor Dale, Andrew Gemmell, Matias Koski, Doug Reynolds, Ty Stewart and Michael Trice made the Second Team, while Dale and Pace Clark were selected for the All-Freshman Team.

First-Team All-SEC honors went to student-athletes who finished first in each event, including on relays, Second-Team All-SEC honors went to the second- and third-place finishers, and the top freshman finisher in each event was named to the SEC All-Freshman Team.

Men's Swimmer of the Year:Marcin Cieslak, Florida
Women's Swimmer of the Year:Brittany MacLean, Georgia
Men's Diver of the Year:Mauricio Robles, Tennessee
Women's Diver of the Year:Laura Ryan, Georgia
Men's Freshman Swimmer of the Year:Mitch D'Arrigo, Florida
Women's Freshman Swimmer of the Year:Olivia Smoliga, Georgia
Men's Freshman Diver of the Year:Jordan Gotro, South Carolina
Men's Co-Scholar-Athlete of the Year:T.J. Leon, Auburn
Men's Co-Scholar-Athlete of the Year:Brad deBorde, Florida
Women's Scholar-Athlete of the Year:Shannon Vreeland, Georgia
Men's Swimming Coach of the Year:Gregg Troy, Florida
Women's Swimming Coach of the Year:Steve Bultman, Texas A&M
Co-Men's Diving Coach of the Year:Jeff Shaffer, Auburn
Co-Men's Diving Coach of the Year:Jamie Sweeney, Missouri
Women's Diving Coach of the Year:Dan Laak, Georgia
Men's Swimmer of the Meet:Sebastien Rousseau, Florida
Women's Swimmer of the Meet:Breeja Larson, Texas A&M
Men's Diver of the Meet:Ford McLiney, Texas A&M
Women's Diver of the Meet:Laura Ryan, Georgia

Men's All-SEC First Team
Marcelo Chierighini, Auburn
Marcin Cieslak, Florida
Kyle Darmody, Auburn
Brad deBorde, Florida
James Disney-May, Auburn
Michael Duderstadt, Auburn
Nic Fink, Georgia
Arthur Frayler, Florida
Christian-Paul Homer, Florida
Chase Kalisz, Georgia
Sean Lehane, Tennessee
T.J. Leon, Auburn
Corey Main, Florida
Anton McKee, Alabama
Ford McLiney, Texas A&M
Arthur Mendes, Auburn
Sebastien Rousseau, Florida
John Santieu, Auburn
Eduardo Solaeche-Gomez, Florida
Dan Wallace, Florida

Men's All-SEC Second Team
Jack Blyzinskyj, Florida
David Bonuchi, Missouri
Vlad Caciuc, Alabama
Matthew Curby, Florida
Mitch D'Arrigo, Florida
Taylor Dale, Georgia
Greg Ferrucci, Kentucky
Andrew Gemmell, Georgia
Kristian Gkolomeev, Alabama
Zane Grothe, Auburn
BJ Hornikel, Alabama
Matias Koski, Georgia
Gustav Aberg Ledjstrom, Tennessee
Fraser McKean, Auburn
Connor Oslin, Alabama
Luke Percy, Tennessee
Sam Rairden, Tennessee
Doug Reynolds, Georgia
Mauricio Robles, Tennessee
Connor Signorin, Florida
Tristan Slater, Tennessee
Ty Stewart, Georgia
Michael Trice, Georgia
Brett Walsh, Alabama
Pawel Werner, Alabama

Men's SEC All-Freshman Team
Pace Clark, Georgia
Mitch D'Arrigo, Florida
Taylor Dale, Georgia
Kyle Darmody, Auburn
Michael Duderstadt, Auburn
Brandon Flynn, Kentucky
Jordan Gotro, South Carolina
Cam Jones, Auburn
Anton McKee, Alabama
Connor Oslin, Alabama
Joe Patching, Auburn
Brent Sagert, Alabama

Women's All-SEC First Team
Cammile Adams, Texas A&M
Elizabeth Beisel, Florida
Ann-Perry Blank, Georgia
Kaylin Burchell, Alabama
Jessica Graber, Georgia
Molly Hannis, Tennessee
Lauren Harrington, Georgia
Lili Ibanez-Lopez, Texas A&M
Tori Lamp, Tennessee
Breeja Larson, Texas A&M
Maddie Locus, Georgia
Brittany MacLean, Georgia
Melanie Margalis, Georgia
Amber McDermott, Georgia
Caroline McElhany, Texas A&M
Paige Miller, Texas A&M
Laura Ryan, Georgia
Olivia Smoliga, Georgia
Chantal VanLandeghem, Georgia
Shannon Vreeland, Georgia
Ellese Zalewski, Florida

Women's All-SEC Second Team
Christina Bechtel, Kentucky
Kelli Benjamin, Texas A&M
Sammie Bosma, Texas A&M
Harper Bruens, Tennessee
Erica Dittmer, Texas A&M
Hali Flickinger, Georgia
Lindsey Gendron, Tennessee
Molly Hannis, Tennessee
Sarah Henry, Texas A&M
Natalie Hinds, Florida
Faith Johnson, Tennessee
Hilda Luthersdottir, Florida
Lindsey McKnight, Florida
Meredith Oliver, Texas A&M
Lauren Reedy, Missouri
Sinead Russell, Florida
Lauren Solernou, Tennessee
Cherelle Thompson, Tennessee
Cassie Weil, LSU
Annie Zhu, Georgia
Rachel Zilinskas, Georgia

Women's SEC All-Freshman Team
Bridget Blood, Alabama
Kendal Casey, Kentucky
Delaney Dye, Florida
Madison Hudkins, Texas A&M
Taylor Katz, Florida
Lindsay Keahey, Kentucky
Kara Kopcso, LSU
Sycerika McMahon, Texas A&M
Allyx Purcell, Auburn
Olivia Smoliga, Georgia
Ellie Suek, Missouri
Danielle Valley, Florida
Rachel Zilinskas, Georgia

HunkerDown Productions
  • There are no recent results.
  • There are no upcoming events.

Georgia Official Online Store Committ to the G

Georgia Official Online Store
Photo Store Media Guides