Georgia Swimmers, Diver Garner SEC Honors
Andrew Gemmell

Feb. 28, 2013

ATHENS, Ga. --- The Southeastern Conference handed out its swimming and diving awards on Thursday, and Georgia garnered several honors.

The Lady Bulldogs, who claimed the team title for the fourth straight time, placed a league-high eight women on the All-SEC First Team. Representing Georgia were Maddie Locus, Melanie Margalis, Jordan Mattern, Megan Romano, Laura Ryan, Allison Schmitt, Chantal Van Landeghem and Shannon Vreeland.

The Bulldogs had three men on the First-Team list in Nic Fink, Chase Kalisz and Matias Koski.

The Second Teams included Lauren Harrington, Amber McDermott and Annie Zhu of the Lady Bulldogs and Will Freeman of the Bulldogs.

The First Teams consist of individual and relay winners at the SEC Championships, while the Second Teams are made up of runners-up.

Hali Flickinger, Van Landeghem, Zhu, Matt Ellis, Kalisz, Koski, Anival Rodriguez and Ty Stewart were named to the All-Freshman Teams, which consist of any first-year competitors who finished in the top eight or were the highest-scoring freshman of each event. Following the SECs, Kalisz was announced as the Male Freshman of the Year.

Andrew Gemmell was named the Scholar-Athlete of the Year in voting by the league's coaches. Gemmell and Locus previously were named to SEC Community Service Team.

At the conference meet, it was announced that Jack Bauerle had been chosen the Women's Coach of the Year.

Highlights of the SECs will be shown on Monday on ESPNU. The women's meet will air at 4 p.m., followed by the men's meet at 5:30 p.m.

Georgia's teams will host the Bulldog Last Chance Meet Saturday and Sunday at Gabrielsen Natatorium. The prelims will start each day at 10 a.m., with finals set for 5 p.m. on Saturday and 4 p.m. on Sunday. There is no charge for admission.



HunkerDown Productions
  • There are no recent results.
  • There are no upcoming events.

Georgia Official Online Store Committ to the G

Georgia Official Online Store
Photo Store Media Guides