Several Georgia Swimmers Earn All-SEC Honors
Wendy Trott earned First-Team All-SEC and Female Scholar Athlete of the Year honors on Friday.

Feb. 24, 2012

ATHENS, Ga. --- Several members of the Georgia swimming teams garnered All-Southeastern Conference honors based on their performances at the SEC Championships, according to an announcement Friday by the league office.

The Lady Bulldogs won the SEC title for the third straight season and the Bulldogs came in third in the meet held last week in Knoxville, Tenn.

On the women’s side, the First Team included Lady Bulldogs Shannon Vreeland, Melanie Margalis, Jordan Mattern, Megan Romano, Amber McDermott, Wendy Trott and Michelle McKeehan by virtue of first-place finishes individually and/or on relays. Maddie Locus, Jessica Graber, Lauren Harrington and Kristen Shickora earned Second-Team honors for runner-up efforts. The All-Freshmen Team, consisting of top-8 finishers, included Freshman Female Swimmer of the Year McDermott, Mattern, Locus, Harrington, Nicole Vernon, Megan Molnar and Shannon O’Malley.

Trott also was selected as the Female Scholar-Athlete of the Year. Earlier, Trott and Peter Benner were chosen for the SEC Community Service Team.

Male swimmers Martin Grodzki, Doug Reynolds and Nic Fink earned First-Team honors, while the Second Team included Michael Arnold, John Simmons and Jared Markham. Fink, the Freshman Male Swimmer of the Year, and Markham made the All-Freshmen Team.

ESPNU will televise highlights from the SECs next week. The men's meet will air Monday at 5 p.m., and the women's meet will air Tuesday at 5 p.m.



HunkerDown Productions
  • There are no recent results.
  • There are no upcoming events.

Georgia Official Online Store Committ to the G

Georgia Official Online Store
Photo Store Media Guides