Trott Receives Today's Top 10 Award From NCAA
Wendy Trott receives the Today's Top 10 Award from Georgia coach Jack Bauerle.

Jan. 19, 2013

GRAPEVINE, Texas --- Former Georgia swimmer Wendy Trott was recognized as one of the recipients of the Today’s Top 10 Award on Friday at the NCAA's Convention.

The Today's Top 10 Award recognizes student-athletes who completed their eligibility during the 2011-12 academic year for their success in academics, athletics and in the community. Trott and the other nine recipients, including former Baylor quarterback Robert Griffin III, were recognized on Friday.

Trott, a native of Cape Town, South Africa, was a three-time NCAA and a four-time SEC champion in the 1,650-yard freestyle for the Lady Bulldogs. She was the first woman in conference history to win the 1,650 freestyle four times. Trott also claimed an SEC title in the 500 freestyle. She has represented South Africa in several international competitions, including the 2008 and 2012 Olympics.

Trott was a two-time Capital One Academic All-American and a four-time member of the CSCAA Scholar All-America Team. She earned an NCAA Postgraduate Scholarship and won the Elite 89 Award as the swimmer at the NCAAs with the highest grade point average. Trott was named the H. Boyd McWhorter Female Scholar-Athlete of the Year for all sports by the SEC and received a second postgraduate scholarship from the conference. She won UGA’s Joel Eaves and Marilyn Vincent awards as the senior with the highest grade point average and she received a Ramsey Scholarship for Academic and Athletic Excellence.

Trott also was named to the SEC Community Service Team. She served as a team captain her senior season and was a member of UGA's Student-Athlete Advisory Committee.

"I've never met a more well-rounded person than Wendy," Georgia head coach Jack Bauerle said. "She does everything the way it should be done. She worked equally hard at her studies and her swimming, and she did both with a smile on her face. Her level of commitment to whatever she undertook was amazing. Wendy was an absolute treasure to coach and be around these last four years. She was an outstanding ambassador for our program. We're excited about Wendy receiving this honor, and there's no question that she deserves it."

Trott is the fifth Georgia swimmer to receive the award, which previously was known as Today's Top VII. She joins Lisa Coole (1984), Kristy Kowal (2001), Kim Black (2002) and Samantha Arsenault (2006). Additional winners from Georgia include Terry Hoage, football, 1984; Matt Stinchcomb, football, 1999; Debbie Ferguson, track, 2000; Jon Stinchcomb, football, 2003; Courtney Kupets, gymnastics, 2010; and Marcia Newby, gymnastics, 2011.



HunkerDown Productions
  • There are no recent results.
  • There are no upcoming events.

Georgia Official Online Store Committ to the G

Georgia Official Online Store
Photo Store Media Guides