The Circle of Honor is the UGA Athletic Association's all-sports recognition program which is designed to recognize and pay tribute to extraordinary student-athletes and coaches who, by their performance and conduct, have brought honor to the University and themselves, and who by their actions have contributed to the tradition of the Georgia Bulldogs. The criteria also stipulates that each recipient has earned his or her academic degree.

Student-Athlete Nomination Form Get Acrobat Reader | Coach Nomination Form Get Acrobat Reader | Circle of Honor Criteria Get Acrobat Reader

Dan Magill, Inducted 1996

Coached two NCAA Men's Tennis Team Champions 1980 National Coach of the Year
Bob McWhorter, Inducted 1996

1913 Football All-American College Football Hall of Fame
Frank Sinkwich, Inducted 1996

1942 Heisman Trophy Winner College Football Hall of Fame
Teresa Edwards, Inducted 1996

Four-time W. Basketball Olympian Consensus All-American, 1985, '86
Charley Trippi, Inducted 1996

1946 Football All-America College Football Hall of Fame
Terri Moody Luckhurst, Inducted 1997

1981 National W. Golf Champion UGA's first female scholarship athlete
Forrest "Spec" Towns , Inducted 1997

1936 Olympic 110-High Hurdles Gold Medalist; 1936 NCAA High Hurdles Champ
Reid Patterson, Inducted 1997

1953 NCAA 100-Meter Freestyle Champion Set World Record, 50-meter free
Katrina McClain, Inducted 1998

Three-time W. Basketball Olympian 1987 National Player of the Year
Allen Miller, Inducted 1998

Four-time tennis All-American 1983 NCAA Doubles Champion
Vernon "Catfish" Smith, Inducted 1998

1931 football All-American College Football Hall of Fame
Fran Tarkenton, Inducted 1998

1960 All-American College Football Hall of Fame
Lisa Coole, Inducted 1999

1996 NCAA, 100-Butterfly Champion 1997 NCAA Woman of the Year
William C. "Bill" Hartman, Inducted 1999

1937 Football All-American College Football Hall of Fame
Dr. Tom Lyons, Inducted 1999

FB All-American, 1969, '70 1995 NCAA Silver Ann. Award
Alec Kessler, Inducted 2000

1990 SEC Player of the Year Two-time Academic All-American
Bill Stanfill, Inducted 2000

1968 Outland Trophy winner
Lucy Wener, Inducted 2000

Three-time NCAA uneven bars champion
Spurgeon "Spud" Chandler, Inducted 2000

New York Yankees World Series hero
Terry Hoage, Inducted 2001

Two-time consensus All-America Academic All-America NCAA Top Six Recipient
John Rauch, Inducted 2001

All-America QB, 1948 Head Coach, Oakland Raiders, Super Bowl II
Liz Murphey, Inducted 2001

Women's Golf Coaches Hall of Fame, Women's Athletic Dir.
Al Parker, Inducted 2001

Four-year All-American, 1989, '90 Volvo, All-America Tennis, Collegiate Champion
George Patton, Inducted 2002

Two-time football All-American DT 1966 SEC Lineman of the Year
Janet Harris, Inducted 2002

Four-time basketball All-American All-time UGA scorer, rebounder
Zippy Morocco, Inducted 2002

Football, Basketball Star First UGA Basketball All-American
John Carson, Inducted 2003

All-American End, 1953 Four-sport letterman
Mike Castronis, Inducted 2003

All-American tackle, 1945 UGA Freshman, JV Coach
Cindy Schreyer, Inducted 2003

1984 NCAA Women's Golf Champion; 1984 Honda Broderick National Player of the Year
Scott Woerner, Inducted 2003

1980 All-American DB 1980 Nation's leading punt returner
Vince Dooley, Inducted 2004

Hall of Fame Football Coach (1964-88) Director of Athletics (1979-2004) Six SEC Titles; 1980 National Champions
Herb St. John, Inducted 2004

1946 All-SEC
Sheila Taormina, Inducted 2004

4 Time All-America Swimmer 1996 Olympic Gold Medalist 1996, 2000 Olympic Games
Angela Lettiere, Inducted 2005

1994 NCAA singles championship, three consecutive ITA Grand Slam Finals; 1st women's Grand Slam national champion doubles team 1994 National Player of the Year and SEC Player of the Year; SEC Academic Honor Roll
Jim Wilson, Inducted 2005

1964 All-America; 2001 Georgia Sports Hall of Fame; 1950-75 All-Time Team.
Corrinne Wright, Inducted 2005

1985 and 1986 U.S. National Team 1989 NCAA All-Around national champion and co-champion of the floor exercise event that same year; eight-time All-American 1989, 1990 All SEC
George Bezecny, Inducted 2006

Four year men's tennis lettermen (1982-85) All-America honors; All-SEC
Heather Stepp, Inducted 2006

1992 NCAA vault title; 1993 NCAA vault and floor exercise titles; 1992 Honda Inspiration Award; 1993 SEC Gymnast of the Year
Dick Copas, Inducted 2006

Hall of Fame men's golf coach 17 NCAA Championship appearances, seven SEC titles
Zeke Bratkowski, Inducted 2006

Record-setting quarterback 14-year career in the NFL
Priscilla Pacheco, Inducted 2006

Volleyball All-American
Royce Smith, Inducted 2007

Football All-American
Hope Spivey, Inducted 2007

Gymnastics All-American, National Champion
Ben Zambiasi, Inducted 2007

Football All-American
Kim Arnold, Inducted 2009

Bernadette Mattox, Inducted 2009

Brent Noon, Inducted 2009

Matt Stinchcomb, Inducted 2009

Eric Zeier, Inducted 2010

QB, All-time SEC career passing record
Debbie Ferguson, Inducted 2010

Four-time track Olympian
Billy Payne, Inducted 2011

All-SEC and All-America defensive end
Courtney Shealy, Inducted 2011

Five-time NCAA and 19-time SEC champion, 2000 NCAA Female Swimmer of the Year, finished with the maximum 28 All-America honors 2000 Olympics two time gold medalist

Kristy Kowal, Inducted 2011

Eight-time NCAA champion and a 16-time SEC champion, 2000 NCAA Woman of the Year, Top VIII Award 2000 Olympics silver medalist

Karin Lichey, Inducted 2012

Four-year letterwinner, five All-America honors, won the 1998 national title on floor, earned 11 All-America citations, named the winner of the 1999 Honda Award as the nation's top gymnast
Saudia Roundtree, Inducted 2012

Naismith National Player of the Year, Kodak All-America 1st team, SEC Player of the Year
Jon Stinchcomb, Inducted 2012

First-Team All-American, Academic All-America Team, All-SEC
Marissa Catlin, Inducted 2013

Seven-time All-American, a three-time pick for the Rolex All-Star Team and a two-time selection to the USA Tennis Collegiate Team
Lori Strong, Inducted 2013

1994 NCAA bars champion and she claimed SEC titles on bars in 1993 and in the all-around in 1996
Pat Dye, Inducted 2013

All-American, SEC Champion, SEC's Most Valuable Lineman following his Senior Season
Steve Greer, Inducted 2014

All-America football player and assistant coach
Stephanie Yarem Ransom, Inducted 2014

Soccer First-Team All-America honors
Suzanne Yoculan, Inducted 2014

National Champion Gymnastics Coach
Peter Anderson, Inducted 2015

Football All-America, All-SEC, Most Outstanding Offensive Player senior season
Matias Boeker, Inducted 2015

Tennis NCAA team championship, singles and doubles titles, ITA National Player of the Year, SEC Player of the Year, All-America
Leah Brown, Inducted 2015

Gymnastics All-America, 2-time National Champion, Academic All-SEC
Maritza Correia, Inducted 2015

Swimming All-America, 11-time National Champion, SEC Champion, Olympic medalist
Kelly Miller, Inducted 2016

Women's Basketball All-SEC, 2000 and 2001 SEC Player of the Year, All-America and Academic All-America honors
Coco Miller, Inducted 2016

Women's Basketball All-SEC, All-America and Academic All-America honors
John Little, Inducted 2016

Football First-Team All-America and All-SEC in 1985 and 1986, 2-time Academic All-SEC selection
Stefanie Williams, Inducted 2016

Swimming 28-time All-American, 3-time National Champion & SEC Champion, SEC Academic Honor Roll (twice)

HunkerDown Productions

Georgia Official Online Store Committ to the G

Georgia Official Online Store
Photo Store Media Guides