Bulldog Champions

The Georgia Bulldogs are one of the most decorated teams in college athletics. The Bulldogs have brought home over 40 National Championship trophies including two in football (1942 and 1980), a baseball (1990), ten gymnastics championships, six equestrian titles, thirteen betwen the two tennis teams, and six women's swimming trophies.

While very successful on the national stage, the Georgia Bulldogs have also brought home a slew of SEC Championships, led by men's tennis which has captured 38 league crowns followed by men's golf with 29. Additionally, Georgia has earned top honors 16 times in Gymnastics, twelve times in football, and eleven times each for women's golf and women's swimming and diving.

Georgia's student-athletes have also won hundreds of individual national championships as well. Swimming's Kara Lynn Joyce leads the charge with 16 individual honors followed closely by Mary DeScenza's 14. Fellow swimmers Maritza Correia contributed eleven and Allison Schmitt added ten. Gymnastics Courtney Kupets added nine of her own.

    View More Info    


Circle of Honor

The Circle of Honor is the UGA Athletic Association's all-sports recognition program which is designed to recognize and pay tribute to extraordinary student-athletes and coaches who, by their performance and conduct, have brought honor to the University and themselves, and who by their actions have contributed to the tradition of the Georgia Bulldogs. The criteria also stipulates that each recipient has earned his or her academic degree.

    View More Info    


Circle of Distinction

The Circle of Distinction celebrated its inaugural induction in 2002. It honors those individuals who have extended extraordinary support to Georgia athletics through the years. "All four inductees have been long time and extremely generous supporters of Georgia athletics," said Georgia Director of Athletics Vince Dooley of the 2002 class. "I have known each one of them from the time that I first arrived in Athens 40 years ago. Their loyalty and generosity has been unwavering during all that time."

    View More Info    


Georgia Sports Hall of Fame

Georgia has a long tradition of former athletes, coaches, and staff who have been recognized for their efforts by induction into the State of Georgia Sports Hall of Fame. Click the button below to see a list of these honorees according to the year they were inducted.

    View More Info    


Honda Award Winners

For over 40 years Honda has honored the most outstanding female collegiate athletes in the nation with the Collegiate Women Sports Awards.

Winners are selected in each of the 12 NCAA-sanctioned sports by a panel of more than 1,000 administrators from NCAA member schools.

At the end of the year, one deserving athlete will be chosen as the Collegiate Woman Athlete of the Year and receive the coveted Honda Cup.

    View More Info    


Bulldogs in the Olympics

When nations come calling for their best athletes to participate in the Olympics, the Georgia Bulldogs are called often. Over 130 times Georgia's student-athletes and staff have represented their countries proudly.

One of the most decorated US Olympians, Teresa Edwards, has represented the United States six times, five as a competitor and once as an honorary member. In all, she won four gold medals and a bronze as apart of the women's basketball team.

Arguably, one of Georgia's most well known athletes competed in the Olympics but not in the sport that made him famous. Herschel Walker suited up for the US in the 1992 Winter Olympic Games as a member of the US bobsled team.

Swimmer Allison Schmitt took home six medals in her two Olympic trips. In the 2012 Summer Olympic Games in London, she took home an individual gold in the 200 freestyle and combined on the 4x100 medley relay (gold), 4x200 freestyle relay (gold), 4x100 freestyle relay (silver), and 4x100 freestyle relay (bronze). At the 2008 Summer Olympics in Beijing, China, Schmitt won a bronze in the 4x200 meter freestyle relay.

    View More Info    


Bill Hartman Award

Named for Georgia's long-time kicking coach and chairman of the Georgia Student Educational Fund, the award has been given annually since 1992 and recognizes former Georgia student-athletes who have demonstrated excellence in their profession and/or in service to others by 20 or more years of superior performance after graduation. Only former varsity athletes who have received a baccalaureate degree from Georgia can be considered for the award.

    View More Info    

HunkerDown Productions

Georgia Official Online Store Committ to the G

Georgia Official Online Store
Photo Store Media Guides