University and contractor seek cause of breakage of four glass panes at Stegeman Coliseum
Stegeman Coliseum

Aug. 10, 2012

Athens, Ga. -- The University of Georgia and Choate Construction Company are examining the breakage of glass panes in four of the 358 panels on the facade of Stegeman Coliseum. Until the cause is determined and resolved, protective coverings have been placed over the entrances into the Coliseum.

"Out of an abundance of caution, we determined to place awnings where pedestrians walk on the exterior of the Coliseum, with fencing to direct them under the awnings, until such time as a final determination is made as to the cause of the glass breakage and it is rectified," said UGA Associate Vice President and Campus Architect Danny Sniff.

Each of the 358 panels consists of three panes in a sandwich configuration, installed as part of the $13 million renovation of Stegeman Coliseum completed in late 2010. Four of the individual panes have inexplicably broken in the period July 2011 through June 2012. Choate was the general contractor on the project, and will work with its glass suppliers and curtain-wall designers to examine the failures.

"The panes are made of safety glass, so they break in a spider-web fashion with a few, if any, small pieces falling when a break occurs, much like a car windshield breaking," Sniff said. He added that the structure of the installation is sound. Each of the units is installed in its own supporting structure.

"The building is usable with little to no inconvenience to our patrons," said Athletic Director Greg McGarity. "We wanted people to know why they are seeing awnings and fencing around the Coliseum entrances -- it is out of an abundance of caution for the safety of our fans."

Sniff said some breakage is to be expected in such an installation, but with the fourth occurrence in a year it was determined that an investigation was warranted into whether the glass panels are performing as designed.

HunkerDown Productions
  • Friday, Aug 21
    7:00 PM
    at High Point
    High Point, N.C.
    Saturday, Aug 15
    7:00 PM
    vs Furman Exhibition
    Athens, Ga.
  • Tuesday, Apr 25
    7:00 PM
    at Georgia Tech
    Atlanta, Ga.

    Friday, Apr 28
    7:00 PM
    vs Florida
    Athens, Ga.

    TV
    Friday, Apr 28
    6:00 PM
    vs South Carolina
    Athens, Ga.

    TV
    Friday, Apr 28
    12:00 PM
    vs LSU or Arkansas
    Knoxville, Tenn.
    Saturday, Apr 29
    2:00 PM
    vs Florida
    Athens, Ga.

    TV
    Saturday, Apr 29
    2:00 PM
    vs South Carolina
    Athens, Ga.

    TV
    Saturday, Apr 29
    TBA
    vs TBD
    Knoxville, Tenn.
    Sunday, Apr 30
    1:00 PM
    vs Florida
    Athens, Ga.

    TV
    Sunday, Apr 30
    2:00 PM
    vs South Carolina
    Athens, Ga.

    TV
    Sunday, Apr 30
    TBA
    vs TBD
    Knoxville, Tenn.
    Friday, May 5
    6:30 PM
    at Kentucky
    Lexington, Ky.
    Friday, May 5
    7:30 PM
    at Arkansas
    Fayetteville, Ark.

    TV
    Saturday, May 6
    6:30 PM
    at Kentucky
    Lexington, Ky.
    Saturday, May 6
    2:00 PM
    at Arkansas
    Fayetteville, Ark.

    Saturday, May 6
    All Day
    vs Torrin Lawrence Memorial
    Athens, Ga.
    Sunday, May 7
    1:00 PM
    at Kentucky
    Lexington, Ky.
    Sunday, May 7
    2:00 PM
    at Arkansas
    Fayetteville, Ark.

    TV
    Monday, May 8
    All Day
    vs NCAA Regional
    UGA Golf Course (Athens, Ga.)
    Tuesday, May 9
    7:00 PM
    vs Georgia Tech
    SunTrust Park (Atlanta)
    Tuesday, May 9
    All Day
    vs NCAA Regional
    UGA Golf Course (Athens, Ga.)
    Wednesday, May 10
    TBA
    vs SEC Tournament
    Knoxville, Tenn.
    Wednesday, May 10
    All Day
    vs NCAA Regional
    UGA Golf Course (Athens, Ga.)
    Thursday, May 11
    All Day
    at SEC Outdoor Championships
    Columbia, S.C.
    Friday, May 12
    7:00 PM
    vs Mississippi State
    Athens, Ga.

    TV
    Friday, May 12
    All Day
    at SEC Outdoor Championships
    Columbia, S.C.
    Saturday, May 13
    4:00 PM
    vs Mississippi State
    Athens, Ga.

    TV
    Saturday, May 13
    TBA
    vs NCAA 1st/2nd Round
    TBA
    Saturday, May 13
    All Day
    at SEC Outdoor Championships
    Columbia, S.C.
    Saturday, May 13
    TBA
    vs TBD
    TBD
    Sunday, May 14
    TBA
    vs NCAA 1st/2nd Round
    TBA
    Monday, May 15
    TBA
    vs NCAA 1st/2nd Round
    TBA
    Monday, May 15
    All Day
    vs NCAA Regionals
    TBA
    Tuesday, May 16
    All Day
    vs NCAA Regionals
    TBA
    Thursday, May 18
    TBA
    vs TBD
    Athens, Ga.
    Thursday, May 18
    TBA
    vs NCAA Round of 16-Finals
    Athens, Ga.
    Friday, May 19
    TBA
    vs NCAA Regionals
    Campus Sites
    Friday, May 19
    All Day
    vs NCAA Championships
    Rich Harvest Farms (Sugar Hills, Ill.)
    Friday, May 19
    TBA
    vs NCAA Round of 16-Finals
    Athens, Ga.
    Saturday, May 20
    TBA
    vs NCAA Round of 16-Finals
    Athens, Ga.
    Saturday, May 20
    All Day
    vs NCAA Championships
    Rich Harvest Farms (Sugar Hills, Ill.)
    Sunday, May 21
    TBA
    vs NCAA Round of 16-Finals
    Athens, Ga.
    Sunday, May 21
    All Day
    vs NCAA Championships
    Rich Harvest Farms (Sugar Hills, Ill.)
    Monday, May 22
    TBA
    vs NCAA Round of 16-Finals
    Athens, Ga.
    Monday, May 22
    All Day
    vs NCAA Championships
    Rich Harvest Farms (Sugar Hills, Ill.)
    Tuesday, May 23
    TBA
    vs NCAA Round of 16-Finals
    Athens, Ga.
    Tuesday, May 23
    All Day
    vs NCAA Championships
    Rich Harvest Farms (Sugar Hills, Ill.)
    Wednesday, May 24
    All Day
    vs NCAA Championships
    Rich Harvest Farms (Sugar Hills, Ill.)
    Wednesday, May 24
    TBA
    vs NCAA Round of 16-Finals
    Athens, Ga.
    Thursday, May 25
    TBA
    vs NCAA Super Regionals
    Campus Sites
    Thursday, May 25
    All Day
    at NCAA East Prelims
    Lexington, Ky.
    Friday, May 26
    All Day
    at NCAA East Prelims
    Lexington, Ky.
    Friday, May 26
    All Day
    vs NCAA Championship
    Sugar Grove, Ill.
    Saturday, May 27
    All Day
    at NCAA East Prelims
    Lexington, Ky.
    Saturday, May 27
    All Day
    vs NCAA Championship
    Sugar Grove, Ill.
    Sunday, May 28
    All Day
    vs NCAA Championship
    Sugar Grove, Ill.
    Monday, May 29
    All Day
    vs NCAA Championship
    Sugar Grove, Ill.
    Tuesday, May 30
    All Day
    vs NCAA Championship
    Sugar Grove, Ill.
    Wednesday, May 31
    All Day
    vs NCAA Championship
    Sugar Grove, Ill.
    Thursday, June 1
    TBA
    vs Womens College World Series
    Oklahoma City, Okla.
    Wednesday, June 7
    All Day
    at NCAA Outdoor Championships
    Eugene, Ore.
    Thursday, June 8
    All Day
    at NCAA Outdoor Championships
    Eugene, Ore.
    Friday, June 9
    All Day
    at NCAA Outdoor Championships
    Eugene, Ore.
VIEW FULL COMPOSITE CALENDAR

Georgia Official Online Store Committ to the G

Georgia Official Online Store
Photo Store Media Guides




SPONSORS