A look at the SEC championship

| No TrackBacks
share button - remove; see above
Another congratulations to the Georgia men's tennis team on its 34th SEC title yesterday! After some quick math, we learned that 147 UGA lettermen have now won at least one SEC title during their time playing in Athens, while head coach Manuel Diaz now has 21 of those - 13 regular season, 8 tournament. That's a pretty darn good track record for both the players and their head coach! The Bulldogs will now await what happens at the NCAA selection show on May 1, already secured an automatic bid and, for all intents and purposes, a regional hosting bid before the Round of 16 heads to Athens May 17-28.

Just a few things worth looking at from yesterday: recap & video package here
-Chip Towers blog: Georgia 'peaking at right time'
-Red & Black account here
-Video of match point

SEC Men's Tennis All-Tournament Team

*Hernus Pieters, Georgia
*Ignacio Toboada, Georgia
Tom Jomby, Kentucky
Anthony Rossi, Kentucky
Nik Scholtz, Ole Miss
George Coupland, Mississippi State

*MVP: Ignacio Toboada, Georgia

No TrackBacks

TrackBack URL:

Twitter Facebook Instagram Google